Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2009, 03:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 129
Default really need some help from the poeple with RAID-1

heres what i have -

3x320gb HDD's
1x2 Bay hot swappable RAID-1 enclosure inside the case

heres what i am doing with it -

2 of the drives are in the system working fine, at the end of the day i remove the second drive and replace it with a 3rd, letting the raid rebuild. i then take the removed HDD home with me so i have a backup off-site incase something happens in the office.

Is it bad to rebuild a raid on a daily basis?
__________________
IM THE DUDE, PLAYING A DUDE, DISGUISED AS ANOTHER DUDE.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2009, 08:37 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

I wouldn't say it's "bad" but what are you gonna do if (for example) the RAID1 array gets stolen?

You can't just plug the HDD into a machine and copy files off. You'd have to have an identical unit set up the same way as the old unit.


As for rebuilding every day, it's not the best solution IMO.
I'd rather have one of those one touch backup things (on the simple side).

On the complicated side, I'd do something like automatic RSYNC.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2009, 08:50 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

Sounds fine to do, but it probably adds some extra wear and tear to the drives.

And as for not being able to read data if you plug in the off-site drive into a computer, I don't see why this would be the case. With RAID1 all drives are just mirrored, so if you plugged it in elsewhere, you could read data off it just fine. It's not like RAID1 or 5 where bits are spread across disks.

Though I think a better way to do this would be with an external USB enclosure to put the 3rd drive in and just run some kind of backup software to incrementally back up to it daily. Saves you from having to write the whole disk each day.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2009, 09:06 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Don't use usb though too friggin slow, go Esata these days. I have one client thats running raid1 between an internal drive and an Esata that's in a fireproof safe in the crawlspace under the server. Does a weekly image and takes it home too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID suggestions serenity Storage 1 January 28, 2009 11:41 PM
Help on Raid set-up Malam Storage 4 December 9, 2008 01:13 AM
AM2 MB that supports Raid 5 Cypher^64 CPU's and Motherboards 0 November 17, 2008 09:22 PM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 09:58 AM
raid help Jhayman Troubleshooting 9 November 8, 2007 01:10 PM