Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2009, 07:28 AM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default Trouble with ridata?

I've got a newly opened 50 pack of ridata cds that won't work right, they won't recognize at all on one of my lg burners and on the other one, when I burn an audio cd using WMP they skip like crap...
I have another 50 of these on the shelf, are they all junk?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2009, 07:29 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Are they -r?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2009, 07:47 AM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Ya,they're CD-Rs..
I've been able to get one to burn right using the "slow" setting in wmp. I've opened the second package to see if they are the same. Prolly goin in the trash, not worth the shipping to return em. Still pisses me off though.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2009, 07:51 AM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

OK, I was able to get one from the second pack to burn at 48x, must just be the one bad batch I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2009, 08:53 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

Ridata makes awful media IMO. I think I've had more coasters with Ridata that I have had actual successful burns.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2009, 09:03 AM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Ridata makes awful media IMO. I think I've had more coasters with Ridata that I have had actual successful burns.

I've never heard of them so they must be crappy media.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2009, 09:06 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

I have gone through a bit over 100 of those (you mean the red shrink-wrapped pack right?) and the only coasters I have burnt were when I was using a bad image to start with.

Here is an oldish screenie from when I was testing out my burner. I used a Ridata CD.
http://i43.tinypic.com/2rzvpmt.png

I have only used them in my Pioneer DVR-112D and Samsung SH-S203N though.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2009, 09:11 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Ridata makes awful media IMO. I think I've had more coasters with Ridata that I have had actual successful burns.
Ditto,More coasters from Ridata than any brand cdr i used before..I will never purchase again or recommend them..
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2009, 09:12 AM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay51 View Post
Ditto,More coasters from Ridata than any brand cdr i used before..I will never purchase again or recommend them..

verbatim's ftw!
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2009, 09:14 AM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Last time I'll buy em ( even at 10 bux for 50 )
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
annoying gta 4 trouble!!! shayan288 Gaming 13 February 23, 2009 10:27 AM
Trouble with IIS v5.1 on XP PRO tao5269 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 February 17, 2009 06:42 PM
Steam trouble. Zippoh Gaming 6 December 31, 2008 07:04 PM
Icon Trouble!!! shayan288 Gaming 7 November 9, 2008 05:16 PM
PS3 wi-fi trouble ebdoradz Networking 8 December 8, 2007 05:12 PM