Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 08:23 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default cheap ssd

would a cheap ssd be worth it just to improve startup time vs' a ide drive. all my grandfather does is surf the web and printing stuff, and keeps complaining about the startup time vs' his old 133mhz comp.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 08:27 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

You can't upgrade the PC? Or at least clean out all the "bloat"?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 08:32 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

I would stay away from the cheap SSDs. Seems to be issues with them. There are some Intels and OCZs which seem good, but are still expensive.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 08:39 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

no need to upgrade the pc its only 2 years old, and there is nothing installed on the computer just the stuff he needs like driver and small programs. i think only 10 gigs out of the 160 are used.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 08:41 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

A 2 year old 133Mhz PC?..... interesting...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 08:44 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

yeah strange... maybe its "new" used

i still have 60mhz (90 for turbo mode) 64 mb of ram, 5 gb, etc PLUS media remote NEC computer in my room... i dont know why... >_>
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 08:44 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

I think he was talking about how his grandfather's old 133Mhz PC boots up faster than the new one, the one they got two years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 08:45 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Pfft... thats way too "New" for me. I'll go bust out my 386 with Windows 3.1 and 8Megs of ram. take that!

Edit:
Ahhhh Infiniti, the voice of reason!

Perhaps fix your boot order, put the HDD first, disable Everything thats unused in Bios and see if that improves the boot-up time? Or... hibernate it at the end of each day instead of turning it off?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 08:50 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

booting up to the hdd is fine but it takes soooooo long at the windows loading screen. and everthing is turned off in the bios that isnt being used.

edit: and turning off the pc at night is a must. hes a stubborn old man, and i cant get him to just leave it on.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 09:28 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,985

My System Specs

Default

What is the rest of the system specs?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Cheap P35 board and cheap nVidia card for folding rig zlojack Buy/Sell & Trade 3 December 14, 2008 06:03 AM
LF 8800GS, cheap quality PSU around 400W, any cheap C2D CPU klaiboi Buy/Sell & Trade 6 November 2, 2008 06:21 PM
WTB: Stuff (I need to build a cheap, cheap computer.) S_G Buy/Sell & Trade 3 September 28, 2008 04:13 PM
cadaveca's 4 sale thread!CHEAP CHEAP!!! cadaveca Buy/Sell & Trade 12 August 6, 2008 08:24 AM