Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 05:25 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,142
Default Grounding HDD necessary?

Background: Got a pair of WD 640's that I'm sticking into a apir of Scythe enclosures. Included with the enclosures are ground cables and screws to hard-attach the HDD's to the enclosure.

Now, given the choice, I'd much rather not bother with the screws, since that will ensure the HDD's are completely supported by nothing but the thermal padding. But if I don't use the screws, there won't be any electrical pathway from the HDD to the outside of the enclosure, which would make the ground straps largely useless.

I know my HDD's in my Sonata III case are technically ungrounded like this, and I never had any issues with them. So, how necessary is the grounding process for the drives?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 05:30 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Aren't the HDDs grounded through the SATA power cable?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 05:45 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,142
Default

That was kind of my thoughts, too. But there are a couple oddball item that don't seem to follow this rule - peripheral jacks on motherboards, for example. And then you get medical equipment where a lack of grounding is apparently necessary?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 05:57 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

The metal casings of the jacks and the I/O back panel provide the grounding. And since I have both the Sonata and the P182, all my drives aren't grounded. It was the same in my Lili V1000 too.

I don't think I ever had HDD metal-to-metal contact... and I never had a problem.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 06:32 AM
lemonlime's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 530
Default

Yep, 3.0charlie is correct. Hard drives are grounded via the power connector. Many cases have plastic drive caddies, or vibration reduction gaskets on the screws, so it is definitely not an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 06:46 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,142
Default

Good to know. I REALLY don't want to pull this case apart again just to put a few screws in, and any vibration isolation will work better with nothing hard-attaching the drives to the enclosure.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 04:18 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Ground? are you afraid of static electricity? Don't PSU have ground cable too? forgot what color those were

I can guarantee human static electricity won't be a problem

I had touch my running Hard drives many times this week to check its temperature and got a zapped a few time

And what color is the front bezel of your antec sonata III? the sliver one?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 12:36 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,142
Default

Sorry, didn't notice this post before. My S3's got the black front, which I believe is the revision. It's not static electricity that I'm worried about, it's just general grounding that could be at issue. Some electronics rely on frame grounding for either an electrical pathway, or as a means to prevent EM interference. Given that HDD's involve both an extremely fast motor, plus an internal micro-controller, I wouldn't have been surprised to know that grounding was required. Although given that both my drives are running just fine right now, obviously not.

And on the topic of shocking yourself from the HDD's - be careful. You might be getting away with it on the metal body, but one shock off the circuit board underneath the drive, and you can expect that drive to be stone dead.

On a related topic, THESE things are seriously awesome. I have to press my ear right against the enclosure to even hear the faintest seek noises now.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 02:02 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Like others have already said, HD's are grounded through the power connector.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 10:51 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
Ground? are you afraid of static electricity? Don't PSU have ground cable too? forgot what color those were

I can guarantee human static electricity won't be a problem

I had touch my running Hard drives many times this week to check its temperature and got a zapped a few time

And what color is the front bezel of your antec sonata III? the sliver one?
You got zapped by your hard drive ? The voltage and amperage is way too low for you to feel anything - maybe something else zapped you, a case that was not properly grounded and you took a 120V zap ? I have done that too in the past with hard drives touching them and never got zapped, maybe you are unusually highly electrically conductive
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grounding yourself? fawconpunch Troubleshooting 17 June 29, 2008 06:27 PM