Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 11:33 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

ummm...cough.....actually I ran it for 80'ish minutes for each que depth....FOUR times. As I do for all the other tests :)~
It takes about a day to fully run the IOMeter tests...properly ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 11:38 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

uhh, wow, you are hardcore

I don't think I am hardcore enough to spend an entire day SSD benching. An hour to sure, but not whole day.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 11:27 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

Did you have any fragmentation issues after all your Iometer runs? It crippled my drive. I was getting 30 MB/s writes after running it. Had to completely zero out the drive to regain its performance.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 12:10 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Sigh... this is why I haven't bitten the bullet on these things yet. I deal with the price, it's these oddball issues that make me hold back.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 04:42 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

After doing any major benchmark I format all SSD drives. I do this to ensure best results in all tests...so I while I didn't have any issues...it is not totally surprising. You are doing a major extended random write and read test and these bad boys don't exactly like that as it will never happen to that extent in normal operations. Add in that defraging is frowned upon and you get a badly confused, badly fragmented drive.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 04:55 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,663
Default

After reading AkG's Patriot v2 review, I have the distinct feeling that many of the issues are due to the OS rather than the drive itself.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 07:36 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
After doing any major benchmark I format all SSD drives. I do this to ensure best results in all tests...so I while I didn't have any issues...it is not totally surprising. You are doing a major extended random write and read test and these bad boys don't exactly like that as it will never happen to that extent in normal operations. Add in that defraging is frowned upon and you get a badly confused, badly fragmented drive.
Formatting didn't help me. I had to do a low level format (write zeros to entire drive). I never used an actual defrag tool either.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 07:44 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

That is strange. I did IOmeter first then did a bunch more benchmarks on our X25M w/ no hiccup. Is it working properly now?
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 07:48 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

After 2 low level formats it seems to be better. Ended up reinstalling windows 4 times yesterday until i figured out the problem though.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 08:18 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

I wonder if your X25m "adaptive firmware" went wonky on you. It is supposed to over time adapt its self the users needs....and in your case it went a little insane. Glad to hear its working for you again!
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core i7 920, 940 & 965 EE Review Comment Thread MAC CPU's and Motherboards 67 January 27, 2009 06:00 PM
BFG GTX 285 OCX Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 8 January 21, 2009 01:55 PM
[FS] Intel X25-M 80GB SSD Drives Linus Buy/Sell & Trade 13 January 4, 2009 01:57 PM
BFG GTX 260 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 33 November 15, 2008 10:26 PM