Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 11:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 21
Default 2.5" eSata Enclosure - Any thoughts?

I was originally going to get a 320gig 2.5" SATA drive, when I discovered from some threads and reviews, that a lot of enclosures will not support that size of drive (storage size). So now, i'm considering dropping down to a 160gig hdd.

My considerations are:
160gig 7200rpm- Vantec Nextstar-3 enclosure
360gig 7200rpm- (yet to be found enclosure that can accomodate it)
Requirements: eSata/usb (must have both)

any thoughts?

--edit--
(my reasoning for the eSata and 7200rpm were that I was hoping to boot from it on my laptop... it'll likely have WinXP on it, and might be capturing video to it... but am open to other thoughts/opinions, ie: if 5400rpm is fast enough, etc...)

Last edited by jgerber; February 23, 2009 at 06:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 02:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 21
Default

I guess if I get this one:
Welcome to CoolMaxUSA.com
Reviews - Pro-Clockers! PC Reviews One MegaHertz At A Time

According to the Coolmaxusa site, it "appears" it will support up to a 500gb HDD.

Looks like it doesn't have a power input at all... can it get all the power it needs via the USB (when using eSATA)?

The vantec site, it "appears" their enclosure will support up to 320gigs:
http://www.vantecusa.com/front/product/view_detail/177

I wonder if I can trust those specs? (ie: if they say they will support a drive up to a certain size.. if they infact will ?)

--edit--
I'm leaning towards the coolmax one, because of it's aluminum material.. vantec seems to be made of plastic... so I've sent their support an email asking if it will support a 320gig WD Scorpio drive.

Last edited by jgerber; February 23, 2009 at 03:32 PM. Reason: had wrong link/product for the Vantec enclosure
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2009, 07:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: GTA
Posts: 30
Default

I have a 2.5" WD 320 GB HD inside a Vantec eSata enclosure. Works fine in USB and eSATA mode.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eSATA Cable Length Question Malam Storage 2 December 28, 2008 08:42 AM
Looking for feedback on using esata yamawho Storage 9 December 27, 2008 05:36 PM
3.5" USB Hard Drive Enclosure (IDE) tester3000 Buy/Sell & Trade 4 August 1, 2008 09:58 PM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 10:58 AM