Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 02:12 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default drives for raid, question

I want to buy a second drive to setup a raid 0.My current HD is Seagate ST3320620AS ,the one I,m buying is Seagate ST3320613AS.their the same size,same cache ,end of number is slightly different,one specs as a 7200.11 and the other as a 7200.10 Do you think tere'll be any conflict or will they work find together?
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 02:48 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,950

My System Specs

Default

It will work, however the 7200.10 is considerably slower than the 7200.11 due to the platters being smaller. Personally I think I'd rather not use the drives in RAID0.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 02:58 PM
Barron58P's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

They will work fine in RAID together. I used 4 maxtors in raid 0. Performance wise I would save and get a raptor. From personal experience the 4 disk raid was no comparison to the raptors. Even 7 disks(7k) could not beat the two disk raptor raid.
__________________
Mother board: ASUS Maximus X38 WC on NB, SB, and VR
Processor: Q9650 WC
Power: Silverstone 750W ST75ZF
Memory: Crucial 4Gb DDR2-800
Video: ASUS GTX295
pump / radiator: Koolance EXOS 2+
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 03:44 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
It will work, however the 7200.10 is considerably slower than the 7200.11 due to the platters being smaller. Personally I think I'd rather not use the drives in RAID0.
so performance over a single drive little if any better?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2009, 07:54 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barron58P View Post
They will work fine in RAID together. I used 4 maxtors in raid 0. Performance wise I would save and get a raptor. From personal experience the 4 disk raid was no comparison to the raptors. Even 7 disks(7k) could not beat the two disk raptor raid.
i'll go with two Raptors,will these need HD fans ? i dont use sides on the tower
thanks

Last edited by Jim; January 30, 2009 at 08:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID 0 + Muiltiple Drives Digikid Storage 24 March 16, 2009 09:41 AM
different drives in RAID 5 configuration serenity Storage 2 January 29, 2009 12:18 AM
Poor performance of 2x samsung 640gb drives in raid 0?? Gunner86 Storage 5 November 1, 2008 10:18 AM
Hard drives in RAID miggs78 Storage 2 August 9, 2008 09:11 PM
Help!! I can't unlock these RAID Drives!? bushwickbill Troubleshooting 38 July 30, 2008 10:51 PM