Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2007, 08:01 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 403
Default system ram replacement ?

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...Z%20Technology
if this is used in a vista capable mobo.is system ram needed at all when using Ready Boost in vista ? would it obstruct overclocking ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2007, 08:08 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,231

My System Specs

Default

You still need system ram.

System ram and the Vista "ready boost" are used for different things. Flash memory is still much slower than DDR mem.

I doubt using it would affect OC as the two types of mem (three if you count virtual mem on the HD) wouldn't really be working together that closely.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2007, 08:23 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 403
Default

thanks for the reply,guess any build is gona need system ram on board,thought maybe Id get away cheaper
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2007, 08:29 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,231

My System Specs

Default

What are you starting with?

I know you were looking for a reasonably priced S775 motherboard, do you have a rig now that you can salvage parts off of?

The reason I'm asking is that you can always go the route I did and pick up the Asrock 4Coredual-VSTA + a conroe/allendale chip and use your old hardware while you save up enough money for a full fledged mobo + DDR2 mem.

It's not a screaming OC beast, but it gets your foot in the door. (It'd OC fairly well with either the E4300 or the E4400).
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 03:44 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
What are you starting with?

I know you were looking for a reasonably priced S775 motherboard, do you have a rig now that you can salvage parts off of?

The reason I'm asking is that you can always go the route I did and pick up the Asrock 4Coredual-VSTA + a conroe/allendale chip and use your old hardware while you save up enough money for a full fledged mobo + DDR2 mem.

It's not a screaming OC beast, but it gets your foot in the door. (It'd OC fairly well with either the E4300 or the E4400).
who sells the asrock ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 04:25 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,244

My System Specs

Default

NCIX
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacement laptop batteries dheian Mobile Computing 5 January 13, 2008 02:55 AM
New System! :) Kandorf Troubleshooting 2 October 3, 2007 03:24 PM
I need some help with a new system SirenOfDarkness Troubleshooting 0 September 7, 2007 07:51 PM
My new system and some questions Chrisahl CPU's and Motherboards 21 August 2, 2007 12:36 PM
New System - Need help Sameer CPU's and Motherboards 27 April 29, 2007 10:15 AM