Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 10:23 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default WD 640 Black SATA ....Not SATA 2

Hey guys,
Still awaiting my I7 stuff...Mobo n true..see the Mobo is now in Stock so hopefully this week, as for the True....?..not sure. Anyhow, will be using my 74 GB Raptor and picked up this 640 this evening
Buy Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB 7200RPM 32MB Dual Proc 3.5IN SATA Hard Drive OEM 5YR Mfg Warranty

Just realized (after purchase) that it is a SATA vs SATA2 is that a big deal? Will be going into the EvgaX58 Board with 3 x 2GB Dominator 1600.
I have heard nothing but good things about this Drive, hence part of my decision, plus thought the price was decent (thanks Chilly)....

Any thoughts on SATA vs SATA 2 would be appreciated.

Thanks guys
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 10:26 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Its a SATA2 drive they just labeled it wrong.. and even if it was only sata don't matter .. you never see full sata2 speeds anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 10:30 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

If you check the Data Transfer Rate = 300MBps, which is Sata2...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 10:31 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
and even if it was only sata don't matter .. you never see full sata2 speeds anyways.
Thanks Enab....that was kinda what I thought.....the 1TB Black is labelled SATA 2...not this one...oh well...
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 10:32 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
If you check the Data Transfer Rate = 300MBps, which is Sata2...
Yep thanks again..
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 10:41 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

I kind of chuckled there when I read the OP. Better to check the manufacturer's website first for specs RJ, but you already know that.

WD Caviar Black 640 GB SATA Hard Drives ( WD6401AALS )

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 10:53 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
I kind of chuckled there when I read the OP. Better to check the manufacturer's website first for specs RJ, but you already know that.
If its an item under $100 I don't "dig too deep" prior to hitting the "Accept" button...of course I purchase then I dig

Nice link btw....like thier 3D view of the Drive....had to laugh, along wiith my old Compaq, I got the old ladies old 5yr Rig going the other day as well....20GB HD
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 10:58 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Jeeze you've been married that long!! At least you kept her longer than some of computer hardware you've gone through lately.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 11:14 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
If its an item under $100 I don't "dig too deep" prior to hitting the "Accept" button...of course I purchase then I dig

Nice link btw....like thier 3D view of the Drive....had to laugh, along wiith my old Compaq, I got the old ladies old 5yr Rig going the other day as well....20GB HD
Yeah, that is pretty cool. I've been on their site numerous times, but never checked those out....i like the intelliseek illustrations.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 12:32 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Jeeze you've been married that long!! At least you kept her longer than some of computer hardware you've gone through lately.

Ahhhhhh....she's my 2nd wife ......I stepped up the first one after 10 yrs.....great Step-up Program btw....agree to pay $1200 / month in Child Support and "you to can have the new improved model" ....without the "headaches"
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do SATA DVD drives........ bobaban Storage 1 October 25, 2007 05:04 PM
SATA to IDE.... chibi_man Troubleshooting 9 October 20, 2007 12:02 PM
Asus DVD RW SATA Redline65 Audio 9 October 3, 2007 05:06 PM
sata set up Rapid-X Storage 2 September 2, 2007 09:24 PM
sata Rapid-X Troubleshooting 4 July 27, 2007 02:47 PM