Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 07:44 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default file transferring

hi guys.
I was wondering how to transfer my
program files (214gb) from my old hard drive (internal)
to my new internal harddrive.
do i just copy and paste and delete the old program files...
if so, would i have to re install everything all over agin?...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 08:15 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

If you are looking to replace your old drive, and make your new drive your boot drive, clone it using programs like these:
DriveImage XML Backup Software
Self Image - The FREE (and open source) hard drive imaging utility for Windows

This does a direct copy, boot sector and all. No re-installing. These tools are also on Ultimate Boot CD for Windows, which I highly recommend.
UBCD for Windows
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 08:23 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

Check out the HDD manufacturers' sites as well. IIRC Seagate's Sea Tools incorporates a stripped down version of Acronis that works quite well.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 08:40 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

so copy and pasteing will not do the trick...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 08:40 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

+1 for the Seagate's Diskwizard. I have used it and I went and bought Acronis due to my success with it (but have since bought Ghost). Diskwizard will work if one of the drives you have are Seagate or Maxtor.

Just took a look at the two SugarJ listed which I have not seen before and they look pretty neat for a free utility as well.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 08:42 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post
so copy and pasteing will not do the trick...
I doubt. Often, installed programs make entries in your system registry and this will not get copied in the process you describe as I understand it.

The best way to do what you want is to use a disk imaging software as listed above to move to the new disk.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 08:49 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

If all you want are the files (like media or documents) you can leave the old drive out of the system while you install a fresh OS and then hook it up after. Just ensure that your HDD boot priority is set for the new drive and you should be OK.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 08:54 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

aww, so i have to re install vista on my new hdd just so I can have program file on it instead of old one...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 08:54 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

cuz like apparently in the program you listed, i can only copy the whole drive.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 09:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, if you don't want to just clone the drive (make a copy with more room on the new drive) a fresh install is the way to go. You can't just copy/paste program directories, the files of each individual program are installed to several different areas in the windows directory, as well as registry entries.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you create a raw soud file? coldroll O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 December 11, 2008 11:05 AM
Pentium 4 file server Mr. Gruntsworthy New Builds 6 October 17, 2008 06:07 AM
Building a file server kdub New Builds 10 September 27, 2008 12:04 PM
File sharing over two Vistas? How? mrlie3 Networking 2 June 3, 2008 08:31 PM
testing file for 5.1 sound system? francois methot Audio 5 August 16, 2007 10:45 AM