Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2009, 12:46 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,071

My System Specs

Default

What were you using to judge the tests? I am not liking the synthetic benchmarks I was using. I am using a 128k stripe now and am happy. Although I couldn't tell much of a real world difference between 4k and 128k.

But the only real way to find out is to test yourself. If you have another HDD you can always just image your OS, change the block size then copy over.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2009, 12:54 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default

i used hdtune and hdtach. Im on my old HDDs now, as i think im going to try windows 7 out... not quite sure though. I used a 128k stripe the first time, and i got a lot of difference. Im just unsure as to how games will be played on 4k
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2009, 01:00 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,071

My System Specs

Default

HD Tune and HD Tach are my least favourite. Use ATTO if you must use a benchmark as it actually uses a bunch of different file sizes.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2009, 10:45 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,071

My System Specs

Default

So I've decided to move my ARC-1220 to my media server for a RAID6 setup and have moved the Perc5/i to the gaming system to use with the SSDs. Installing OS right now. Will return with results :)
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2009, 12:07 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,071

My System Specs

Default

PERC 5/i, 4 drive RAID0, 256k


This is with an OS installed on it, so i think it might be a little faster than actually shown. I am still trying to move back my cloned tweaked OS (for SSD's). So if that works I'll post it again. Hopefully writes will increase a tad.

But so far my thoughts are:

Skip on the ARC-1220. If you want a good RAID card for SSD's, this isn't the one you want . The card and BBU was ~ $600, which IMO should be put towards a better RAID card. Preferably one with a dual core processor.

Don't get more than 3 drives, if using a cheaper card (like either of the ones I tried). 3 is nearly enough to saturate what the card can currently do.

Perc 5/i is a great budget card. And its cache can easily be upgraded to 512mb unlike the ARC-1220.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone

Last edited by lowfat; January 27, 2009 at 12:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 11:28 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,071

My System Specs

Default

So I installed Vista 64-bit on the Perc 5/i another too times. Both times reads were considerably lower than the ARC-1220. So I'll be keeping the ARC-1220 in the gaming machine.

PERC 5/i. 4 drive RAID0. 128k.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Price Comparison Jon_di2 Suggestions & Feedback 13 May 9, 2009 03:15 PM
how to install ICH10R for p5q deluxe CTA Troubleshooting 9 October 10, 2008 08:58 AM
AA comparison of ATI and NV in games walkingdog Video Cards 9 September 10, 2008 05:20 PM
RAID0 Backup S/W DK2 Storage 12 September 4, 2008 08:38 AM
8800 gt - gts comparison. Squeetard Video Cards 20 November 19, 2007 02:17 PM