Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2008, 01:11 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Now this Windows XP.. does it have Sp1 installed? or is it a pre-Sp1?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2008, 01:35 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

I am not sure if the service packs or the critical updates really matter download this to the RapidShare: Easy Filehosting which is a simple program that will download all of the critical updates that are listed on the WindowsUpdate.log file ,download all of your drivers then nlite everything to a ISO, burn it and reinstall a fully updated Winxp with all of the updates and your drivers. but that is if I was him( or her) and decided to reinstall the whole OS again.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2008, 01:44 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I am not sure if the service packs or the critical updates really matter download this to the RapidShare: Easy Filehosting which is a simple program that will download all of the critical updates that are listed on the WindowsUpdate.log file ,download all of your drivers then nlite everything to a ISO, burn it and reinstall a fully updated Winxp with all of the updates and your drivers. but that is if I was him( or her) and decided to reinstall the whole OS again.
Windows XP pe SP1 would only recognize upto 127gb hdds and nothing larger.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2008, 02:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alliston, ON
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Windows XP pe SP1 would only recognize upto 127gb hdds and nothing larger.

That's what I had I believe, an xp disk from several years and systems ago, defenitaly doesn't have sp2. One of the first things I did was install sp2 and then let the auto updates roll in - still no change.

I will take all that you guys have said and give it a try. I have halted installing much of anything as I fear I may need to re-install with and updated version of windows to make this work as something seems off to me.
__________________
DFI LanParty Dark X38 | Q6600 @3.0 | Mushkin 2x2gb| 6950 2GB | Audigy 2
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2008, 02:14 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matty D View Post
That's what I had I believe, an xp disk from several years and systems ago, defenitaly doesn't have sp2. One of the first things I did was install sp2 and then let the auto updates roll in - still no change.

I will take all that you guys have said and give it a try. I have halted installing much of anything as I fear I may need to re-install with and updated version of windows to make this work as something seems off to me.
In order for this to work properly you will need to streamline the service pack INTO your cd.

You will want to download nlite for this which will create a new iso for you to burn but will have Sp2 pre-loaded.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2008, 07:40 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

well the thing that gets me is , isn't that the same XP version you were just using with the same hardware? if this is the case then your problem is elsewhere
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2008, 07:42 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
well the thing that gets me is , isn't that the same XP version you were just using with the same hardware? if this is the case then your problem is elsewhere
If he had installed the hard drive AFTER then perhaps, but I'm just throwing different thoughts out there.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2008, 09:30 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
If he had installed the hard drive AFTER then perhaps, but I'm just throwing different thoughts out there.
all he would have to do is go into device manager and remove the drive reboot and it would find it again
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2008, 07:07 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alliston, ON
Posts: 75
Default

I have a theory now as to what happend.


Since my copy of windows is ancient (pre-SP1 even I think) when I re-installed it XP couldn't handle the drives because they were bigger then 128mb. This forced new partions onto the drives, when I updated to SP2 it recongnized the proper size of the drives but the partions were in place now.

I took the advice of using nlite ( nice program by the way!) and slipstreamed SP2 into my XP. I then re-installed with both drives in place. They showed up in their correct sizes but the previous install attempt forced partion's were now in place, replacing the original partitions. So again I can see the drive but not access it, this time though I think it's because of my forced partitions messing things up.

So the lesson here kids is don't be neglectful like me and not slipstream SP2 into an old copy of XP, you will pay for it.

I'm now attempting to recover the data using the Ultimate boot disk for windows (still in the process of burning it) and seeing if I can recover the data myself. If not I will be taking it, with head hung low, to my local computer store for data recovery

Cheers and thanks all for your attempts to get me on track.
__________________
DFI LanParty Dark X38 | Q6600 @3.0 | Mushkin 2x2gb| 6950 2GB | Audigy 2
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2008, 09:41 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

I always thought that it is Bios related not windows related as to what is seen as the size of Hard drives , reboot and look in your Bios and see is that matches what is actually installed on your system.
I did a quick search and found this on how to correct the problem if you have SP1 installed
here is the actual Link( but I copy/pasted it if you are to lazy
[HTMLhttp://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;303013[/HTML]

Code:
 This article describes the Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 1 (SP1) 48-bit Logical Block Addressing (LBA) support for ATA Packet Interface (ATAPI) disk drives that can increase the capacity of your hard disk to more than the current 137 gigabyte (GB) limit.

Note Windows XP does not support 48-bit LBA support unless you are running Windows XP SP1. If you want to use 48-bit LBA support, you must apply Windows XP SP1 or later. Windows XP Media Center Edition and Windows XP Tablet PC Edition already include SP1.

For additional information about the latest service pack for Windows XP, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
322389  How to obtain the latest Windows XP service pack
Back to the top
MORE INFORMATION
Windows XP SP1 includes 48-bit LBA support for ATAPI disk drives. With this support, you can use hard disks that are larger than the current 137 GB limit. By default, support is enabled in SP1. To determine if you are running SP1, right-click My Computer and then click Properties. On the General tab, Service Pack 1 will be listed under "System."

To determine if you have the latest ATAPI driver, verify that you have version 5.1.2600.1135 or later of the Atapi.sys file in your %systemroot%\system32\drivers folder. (Or version 5.1.2600.1152 for Windows XP 64-Bit Edition.) To do this, follow these steps:
Click Start, click Search, and then click All Files and Folders.
Type Atapi.sys, and then click Search.
If you do not find the Atapi.sys file in your %systemroot%\system32\Drivers folder, click More advanced options in Search Companion, click Search hidden files and folders, and then repeat step 2.

For additional information about how to search for hidden and system folders, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
302347  How to search for hidden or system files in Windows XP
Right-click Atapi.sys in your %systemroot%\System32\Drivers folder, and then click Properties.
Note the file version on the Version tab.
If Atapi.sys is not version 5.1.2600.1135 (or version 5.1.2600.1152 for Windows XP 64-Bit Edition), obtain and install the hotfix that is described in Microsoft Knowledge Base article 331958.

For additional information about this hotfix, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
331958  Hard disk may become corrupted when entering standby or hibernation or when writing a memory dump
Back to the top
By default, the original release version of Windows XP Home Edition and of Windows XP Professional do not have 48-bit LBA support. Your computer must meet the following requirements to use 48-bit LBA ATAPI support:
48-bit LBA-compatible BIOS.
137-GB hard disk or larger.
You must have Windows XP SP1 installed.
For the original release version of Windows XP Home Edition or of Windows XP Professional, you can enable 48-bit LBA for testing purposes. To do this, set the EnableBigLba registry value to 1 in the following registry subkey:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Atapi\Parameters\
Warning Data corruption may occur if either of the following conditions is true:
You use this registry value to enable 48-bit LBA support in the original release version of Windows XP Home Edition or of Windows XP Professional.
You install an earlier version of Windows on a disk partition that was previously created by a 48-bit aware operating system, such as Windows XP SP1. And that disk partition is equal to or larger than the current addressable limit of 137 GB.
Note The previous registry setting is ignored in Windows XP SP1 and later. If you try to enable the 48-bit LBA ATAPI support in the original release version of Windows XP Home Edition or of Windows XP Professional by editing the previous registry setting, and you did not meet the minimum requirements, the following issues may occur:
The registry value EnableBigLba is disabled. If you have a 48-bit compatible BIOS that can support a hard disk that has a capacity that is greater than 137 GB, only the first 137 GB of the hard disk are addressable. The rest of the hard disk is not used.
The registry value EnableBigLba is enabled, but you do not have a 48-bit LBA compatible BIOS and the capacity of the hard disk is not greater than 137 GB.

If you enable the 48-bit LBA ATAPI support by editing the registry setting, but you lack both a 48-bit LBA compatible BIOS and a hard disk that has a capacity that is see comment than 137 GB, you have not changed the system. The hard disk continues to function as a standard hard disk.
The registry value EnableBigLba is enabled without a 48-bit LBA compatible BIOS, but you have a hard disk with a capacity that is larger than 137 GB.

If you enable 48-bit ATAPI support in the registry and you have a hard disk that has a capacity that is see comment than 137 GB, but you do not have a 48-bit LBA compatible BIOS, only the first 137 GB of the hard disk are addressable. The remainder of the hard disk is not used.
To enable 48-bit LBA support by using an unattended installation with the Microsoft System Preparation (Sysprep) tool, follow these steps:
Copy the following text into Notepad and save the text as the 48bitLba.inf file:
[version]
signature="$CHICAGO$"
SetupClass=BASE


[DefaultInstall]
AddReg=48bitlba.Add.Reg

[48bitlba.Add.Reg]
HKLM,"System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Atapi\Parameters","EnableBigLba",0x10001,1
Create a file named Cmdlines.txt that includes the following lines:

[Commands]
"rundll32 setupapi,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 128 .\48BITLBA.INF"
Locate the Sysprep\I386 folder in the Sysprep image, and then create a $OEM$ subfolder in this folder.
Copy the 48bitlba.inf and Cmdlines.txt files into the Sysprep\I386\$OEM$ folder.
In your Sysprep.inf file, add a key named InstallFilesPath to the [Unattended] section. This key must have the following value: InstallFilesPath = "C:\sysprep\i386"
To add the previous settings to the Images folder that was created with the Riprep.exe program, follow these steps:
On the remote installation server that contains the Riprep image, create a Sysprep\I386\$OEM$ folder in the following folder:
RemoteInstall\Setup\Language\Images\Riprep_dir_name\I386\Mirror1\UserData
Note Language is "English" for the English language, and Riprep_dir_name is the unique name that you selected for the Riprep image.
Copy the 48bitlba.inf and Cmdlines.txt files into the $OEM$ folder.
Modify the Riprep.sif file (and any other template files for this Riprep image that you have created) in the following folder:
RemoteInstall\Setup\Language\Images\Riprep_dir_name\I386\Templates\Riprep.sif
To do this, add the OemPreinstall and InstallFilesPath values:

[Unattended]
OemPreinstall = "Yes"
InstallFilesPath = "C:\sysprep\i386"
Close and then save the file.
OEMs can turn on this support by using the Microsoft Windows OEM Preinstallation Kit. 

For more information, see the OEM Preinstallation Kit or the following Microsoft Web site:
http://www.microsoft.com/oem
Back to the top
APPLIES TO
Microsoft Windows XP Tablet PC Edition
Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition

Last edited by Shadowmeph; November 26, 2008 at 09:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes