Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 01:08 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default HDTach 3.0 and my HDDs.

Hey guys!

I just ran a few test of HDTach on my computer and was wondering if you guys would consider these results as normal.

That's the "Long bench (32mb zones)" of my WD RaptorX 150GB (Which has my OS on it) :



And here's a "Long bench (32mb zones)" of my new WD Raptor 150GB :



And Finally, here's a "Long bench (32mb zones)" of my WD Caviar 500GB :



So what do you guys think? Are those results normal? Is it normal that i get a better Burst speed on my WD Caviar 500GB ?

Thanks!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 01:50 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

ok, so unless each drive is blank...this compare is not accurate. With data on teh drives, you do not know where on the platter teh drive is testing, and ergo, variations are to be expected.

Low-level format the drives, and compare, to be accurate.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 02:03 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

I am not trying to compare my Raptors m8! If that's what you meant. Basically, i want to know if the Data HDTach gives me is right for a Raptor.

Thanks!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 02:16 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Like I said, it's completely impossible to know because the data on the drive will affect results. Otherwise, looks a bit slow to me...like somehow driver limited, or something.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 05:13 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Oh I see!

Could it be a jumper on the HDD it self that is not at the right place?

And could you explain "Driver limited m8?"

Thanks!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 05:15 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

If you're talking about a jumper on a SATA2 hard drive it's only purpose is to limit you to SATA speeds.... therefore remove it! Also.... They look fairly normal to me.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 06:41 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Considering theres still data on the drives, looks fairly normal to me. Try out HDTune as well, another great HD bench tool.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 07:03 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,635
Default

Raptor drives don't have jumpers.

But yes I'd say those results could be better for that raptor.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 09:40 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Raptor drives don't have jumpers.

But yes I'd say those results could be better for that raptor.
Hum, you sure? I'll hook up a spare 150GB Raptor X thats just laying around right now to see. Actually enaberif, after I test this unused raptor, you just gave me another idea.... I'm gonna see if I have enough spare parts to build a 2nd PC.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2008, 09:45 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
Hum, you sure? I'll hook up a spare 150GB Raptor X thats just laying around right now to see. Actually enaberif, after I test this unused raptor, you just gave me another idea.... I'm gonna see if I have enough spare parts to build a 2nd PC.
Its not that the speeds aren't good they are pretty good I'm more looking at the read and the major drops.. thats what I'm looking at.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes