Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 08:28 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Cool 640GB Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS HD Tune Result

I got ahold of 2 new WD6401AALS HDs. This is the 640GB version of Western Digital's Caviar Black series.

Both are manufactured on September 13, 2008 and they seem to post identical results. The benchmarks were done with HD Tune 2.55.

I've thrown in benchmarks for the 500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue (WD5000AAKS) and also the 300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor (WD3000GLFS).

In two words...the WD6401 is the fastest 7200rpm hard drive I've ever played with - it delivers VelociRaptor-like transfer speeds at 33% of the cost. AWESOME HDs!

WD6401AALS HD 01:


WD6401AALS HD 02:


WD3000GLFS:


WD5000AAKS:


Transferring large files from one WD6401 to the other WD6401 gets an average transfer rate of 95MB/s according to Vista's dialogs. If I transfer small files the average is anywhere between 50 and 65MB/s.

If I transfer files between my VelociRaptor WD3000GLFS and one of the WD6401 drives, then my average is about 105MB/s.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 09:08 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Yeah i love mine! I just ordered 4 more! LOL
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 10:03 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

The cpu usage.. wow..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 11:29 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
The cpu usage.. wow..
I doubt it has anything to do with the HDTune bench, in any case heres my HDTune bench from my WD 1TB Black Edition

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2008, 05:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: British columbia
Posts: 11
Default

nice, cant wait till the 1tb for there price drop

so just making sure the black editions have 5 year warranty? and they cost slightly more right
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2008, 06:10 AM
lemonlime's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 530
Default

Thanks for posting that. I picked up a pair of 640GB SE16's recently and have been very impressed with the performance. Seems that the black editions perform a bit better!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2008, 07:17 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Even my 750 is fantastic, I love these drives.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2008, 07:36 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Nice results Oversized Rooster. It looks like the extra 16mb buffer may have some merit...in certain situations.

Here's what i got on my 6400AAKS and 5000AAKS. As miggs78 pointed out, your CPU usage is huge.

5000AAKS:



6400AAKS:



Are you testing with ACHI on? I'd have to really give it some thought about going for the Black over the Blue though... not sure if the little extra performance is worth the extra money....although, the Black is currently $3 cheaper than the Blue @ DC . That makes it a no-brainer.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2008, 09:55 AM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

During the testing I was doing stuff.

I've re-run the benchmarks now and CPU usage is normal at around 5%. Yes, I am running them in AHCI.

Now both my WD6401 drives score 11.9ms for access time!
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2008, 11:30 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

Is there a difference between with ACHI on and ACHI off? I have a WD6400AAKS and I believe ACHI is disabled in the BIOS. The AAM value is set to 254 though and my access times were around 13s. I'll check the AAM values and the ACHI when I get home.

Also, my speed spikes down a couple times during the benchmark. Is that normal?


Those are some amazing speeds that you're getting with the Black. What's the hard drive used for?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes