Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 05:19 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default Wd 640gb Raid

Hi Guys, I recently bought 2 WD 640GB drives, just am confused between how to setup a RAID on them really.

I currently have a WD 250GB SATA drive with windows in it..

System specs in Sig..

Thanks.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 12:09 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Miggs is your intention to migrate your windows installation to the new drives or do want the raid array to be for games, applications, and multimedia?

If you have a chance to hook a single one up would you mind doing a quick HD tach or HD Tune benchmark, I'd like to see the performance and it would be greatly appreciated.

EE

Last edited by Eagle Eye; November 10, 2008 at 12:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 05:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Do you want one on a single drive, or RAID.
Right now, I am almost unsure if I should leave Windows on the 250GB, and use the RAID for all other programs and stuff.

edit: EE these are for one HDD from both HDD tune and HDD tach.



__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution

Last edited by miggs78; November 10, 2008 at 06:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 06:45 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Thanks so much!!

I'll never know why my drives report such a high random access time. It goes to show how inconsistent these benchmarks are the same drive and it reports completely different burst rate results.

EE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 08:28 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

Here are benchmarks for my two WD6401AALS HDs:

WD6401AALS HD 01:


WD6401AALS HD 02:
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 10:03 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

No worries EE.. Not too much difference btw the 16mb and 32mb cache drives.

Back on the topic, any help please ?.. :)
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2008, 02:02 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

In terms of performance, the WD2500KS (and WD2500AAKS) are far slower drives than the WD6400AAKS or WD6401AALS.

Personally, I don't like the idea of placing critical data on a RAID0 array because if something happens, the data will be lost.

If you MUST do RAID0, then keep your important files and the OS on the WD2500 to be safe and RAID the dual WD6400 drives.

How about using one of the WD6400 drives for OS, and the other for storage? The WD2500, you can sell off.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2008, 02:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Sell off.. Man that drive has been given a usage of its life time lol.. I'm lucky it is still alive. The other 3 family members passed away.. I had a RAID of 4 of those 250gb's.. and 3 family members passed away lol..

Well.. I hear ya Oversized, I thought of the same, I wish I had a bigger drive like a 750GB.. that I would use for the OS and criticial stuff, and the other RAID drives for games and stuff.. But $$$ is tight.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2008, 02:51 PM
lemonlime's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 530
Default

You have a few options if you plan to use Intel Matrix Raid. I have a pair of WD6400's and run a 640GB raid 0 partition for my OS and apps as well as a 320GB raid 1 partition for storage. As mentioned, I'd definitely consider the 6400's for your OS--it'll be much quicker.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2008, 10:30 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Taking all the very good points you guys are throwing, I came to a conclusion that I will leave my Windows on the 250GB SATA drive, and setup RAID0 for everything else, and then when I have saved up enough for a 640GB or 750GB I will just re-install windows on the new drive.

So please help, thank you.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes