Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 12:25 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Well I have decided that both drives are heading back to DC pending approval of my RMA request. I'll give 2 more a shot if all things pan out well, but if the next 2 drives I recieve show similiar results of what I have shown here and operate with the same noise that I experienced with the 1 terabyte I'll be done with them and moving to something different.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 01:02 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

My friend had a RAID 10 array of 320 GB 7200.10 drives and had 3 drives fail all within 2 hours while he was at school. He set his computer up so it would send a text message to him if a drive failed and, when he got 3 all in one day, he just assumed the software was screwing up. He got home and his RAID array was done for :(

Seagate didn't really have an explanation, but offered to send him 8 new 7200.11 drives in their place. They've been working fine so far.

I have a 500 GB 7200.11 myself and a 320 GB 7200.10 and both have served me well with no noticable odd noises.

I've been seeing the most issues with Western Digital, lately, especially their standard Caviar SE drives. The Black and Green drives seem okay, though.

I've yet to have a Samsung drive fail in any of the computers I've built with those drives. They seem pretty solid and perform quite well.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 03:24 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle Eye View Post
Well I have decided that both drives are heading back to DC pending approval of my RMA request. I'll give 2 more a shot if all things pan out well, but if the next 2 drives I recieve show similiar results of what I have shown here and operate with the same noise that I experienced with the 1 terabyte I'll be done with them and moving to something different.
Well I've ordered quite a lot of those HDDs from DC, they have the same date code and FW as yours and never had any issues here - in fact i'm about to order 2 more 500GBs.

I would have checked those drives in another system to be sure 100% before returning them....

I'm honestly surprised to hear problems with the 7200.11 !
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 08:07 AM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 398

My System Specs

Default

Well, probably a huge batch of bad drives? Hmm, tells me a lot about their QA department, if this is the case. No more Seagates hard drives for me for the next little while.
__________________
Silverstone TJ-08E
Seasonic X-660
Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Intel i7-3770
Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Crucial M4 256GB + 128 GB
Sapphire Radeon HD7970
Nec Multisync LCD2690WUXI
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 04:09 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

I have four 500GB 7200.10 in RAID and they seem to be behaving so far but mine are ES drives so there may be a difference there.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 05:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteOwl View Post
I have four 500GB 7200.10 in RAID and they seem to be behaving so far but mine are ES drives so there may be a difference there.
lol - yes there is.........They are actually built with the good components
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 02:44 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

It appears that AAM is not a supported feature of the Barracuda 7200.11 drives it might be a relfection of the poor access times.

Last edited by Eagle Eye; November 13, 2008 at 11:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes