Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 01:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I said "no real" speed bonus. You may find a bit of speed increase but not enough to really warrant it.

Another good reason to keep your OS drive separate is because like myself I overclock a lot and push things a bit far and this can sometimes corrupt your windows installl.

So instead of having to worry about backing up .. i just nuke my windows and re-install. (This actually reminds me of something I need to setup on my desktop)
Or you can keep a backup of your registry after installing all your apps, in a working state, and back it up - so if you get registry corruption you can restore.
Also you should never push your system to the point where you corrupt your windows install. :)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 01:59 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I do it because I format every few weeks and often corrupt data. I also keep everything important backed up on a 3rd HD.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 02:01 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarKStar View Post
Or you can keep a backup of your registry after installing all your apps, in a working state, and back it up - so if you get registry corruption you can restore.
Also you should never push your system to the point where you corrupt your windows install. :)
If you don't push till something breaks... you aren't pushing hard enough :P
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 03:11 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
Also you should never push your system to the point where you corrupt your windows install
But how can you get anything done if you never turn on your computer
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 04:06 PM
paphman910's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 199
Default

I have two hard drives and they are both the same. I keep one hard drive as a backup. I leave the backup drive inside my computer without power. In the event that I screw up the hard drive from bad install or viruses then I can overwrite the hard drive from the backup. It sure beats installing windows from scratch, drivers, programs, windows service packs, email setup, etc.

Paphman910

Last edited by paphman910; November 4, 2008 at 04:10 PM. Reason: error
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 04:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
If you don't push till something breaks... you aren't pushing hard enough :P
LOL - Let's just leave it at that - I use my PC for both leisure and time critical work so I can't afford to break anything right now
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 04:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paphman910 View Post
I have two hard drives and they are both the same. I keep one hard drive as a backup. I leave the backup drive inside my computer without power. In the event that I screw up the hard drive from bad install or viruses then I can overwrite the hard drive from the backup. It sure beats installing windows from scratch, drivers, programs, windows service packs, email setup, etc.

Paphman910
You just gave me a good idea - I might as well install my 2nd SATA backup drive in my case and custom build an on/off switch that I install outside my case on its side so when I need to backup or restore I flip a switch..
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 07:44 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
If you don't push till something breaks... you aren't pushing hard enough :P
If it breaks it needed replacing anyway.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 11:25 PM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

I use an internal hdd for the OS and installed programs only

I use an external E-sata for:

- user folder (my documents, desktop, etc)
- all images (games etc)
- all music, movies, pictures

that way when my OS craps out, I reinstall it and I can instantly restore my user folder, which contains my desktop, all my game profiles, my documents folder, and basically all my data. I have to re-install all my applications of course, but I usually keep all the install files on hand on the external, so its not that big a deal. Its good for routine housekeeping, anyways.
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes