Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2008, 09:29 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default 2 Harddrives

Hello,

So i have been reading the forums alot and it seems that a lot of ppl are using 2 harddrives. One for the OS install and one for installing apps and everything else. What is the point for doing this. Does it make things run better?

Thanks
Computergeek
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2008, 09:44 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

so if your os takes a crap you just have to re-install it and backup minimal files.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2008, 09:44 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

No, it deosnt make things run better unless you beleive it does. Its personal preferance. Im running 3 drives, and its a single partition as 1. Raid 5. THere would be no advantage for me to use another disk unless I can figure out a way to increase the size with out reformating
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2008, 11:00 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

There IS an advantage actually. Try downloading 5-10 torrents at the same time, playing some MP3s or videos and running some apps at the same time. It can hickup from time to time.

Personally, I run a fast WD VelociRaptor 10000rpm 300GB hard drive for my operating system and all installed applications.

Then I have 3 additional WD 500GB hard drives for my music, DVDs, company stuff, web site development, digital camera pictures, etc. I'll add a 1TB drive soon too.

Whenever I have to re-format my PC, I just backup my documents folder and Outlook data file onto one of my 500GB HDs and proceed. Restoration is VERY quick too. I keep a drivers folder on one of my 500GB HDs from which I can directly apply all Windows and Office patches / service packs and all hardward drivers without re-downloading all that stuff.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 Windforce | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2008, 11:39 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Generally the more things are flogging your system's HDD's, the more difference can be noticed by using multiple, seperate drives.

If you can isolate things like multiple torrents and frequent pagefile accesses, applications become more responsive and snappier. On the other hand, if you're working with very large files (i.e A/V editting, etc) RAID solutions can make even more of a difference. It all depends on what you do with your machine.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2008, 11:52 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

True enough, but that is exactly what a raid 5 array is queelling. Less costs by the soudns of it. Get the speeds of a raptor, and the same size, for less. RAID 5 can do alot more operations per second than a single drive array.
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 06:02 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Yeah I also suggest a mixture of what enaberif and Tazer suggested. If possible get 4 hard drives, 2 in RAID for running the OS, and 2 in another RAID to run store and run apps, if you can't get 4, get 3, which 1 should be like a good size for the OS, and the other 2 for RAID for the apps.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 08:00 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Part of it is also a hold over from before the dawn of time. Putting your swap file on a physically seperate disk used to provide a noticable boost to Windows performance. As far as I can tell that is no longer the case.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2008, 06:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

I have always used 1 hard drives for the OS install and applications, if my HDD is big I partition and use the partitions as storage areas or for apps or whatever if need be. I always buy the HDDs in pairs - and make a 1:1 clone using Acronis TrueImage (which you can download FREE, the latest version, if you have a Seagate !)
If the HDD dies, I have a backup I can use right away - of course I'm not into RAID, I like running 1 HDD in my system and making regular backups - I use a SATA/IDE USB enclosure.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2008, 09:33 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarKStar View Post
I have always used 1 hard drives for the OS install and applications, if my HDD is big I partition and use the partitions as storage areas or for apps or whatever if need be. I always buy the HDDs in pairs - and make a 1:1 clone using Acronis TrueImage (which you can download FREE, the latest version, if you have a Seagate !)
If the HDD dies, I have a backup I can use right away - of course I'm not into RAID, I like running 1 HDD in my system and making regular backups - I use a SATA/IDE USB enclosure.
orly? How do you make that happen? Will any old OEM drive at a box shop allow this or do you need buy from some "authorized source" and what are the limitations of use?
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes