Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS NEWS > Site Announcements

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #201 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 12:49 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,402

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Why the HELL have I dropped from 10,000PPD to around 7000
You got any WUs that have 511 points as a value? If so, they are very hard on your GPU clients, and are not worth the value for the effort (hence the name 511s).

If you have any screenshots of FaHMon or Fahspy we might have some suggestions
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #202 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 02:42 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Because you're folding some 511s on all 4 GPUs?

edit: ninja'ed...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #203 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 03:12 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slugbug View Post
Trying a few things before I decide whether I should RMA my EVGA 9800GTX+ SC. It runs games fine but it's not so good at folding for the last few months. I lowered the core clock speed from 771 all the way down to 680mhz and was able to run a few work units to completion. Others simply refuse to run and crap out randomly with EUE and NAN errors.

I ran OCCT 3.01 on it and the graphics test found 525 errors. Is it safe to assume this card has problems and should be RMA'd?
Yea try updating the drivers im using 185.65 from the beta section works just fine havent gotten any problems with them when it comes to folding. And make sure everythings is current what have yu gotten your shaders at?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #204 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 05:05 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Alright, I have to install FAHMon. I'm in tears here guys, heh
Reply With Quote
  #205 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 05:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,520

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I easily drop between 10 and 20% with my 8800GTS (512) when those come up. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #206 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 05:55 PM
slugbug's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal Area
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dashock View Post
Yea try updating the drivers im using 185.65 from the beta section works just fine haven't gotten any problems with them when it comes to folding. And make sure everything's is current what have you gotten your shaders at?
Shaders are at stock. I'll give those drivers a shot but I doubt it'll help much.
__________________
Fractal Define XL|NZXT Hale 90 750w
MSI X79A-GD45|Core i7 3820
NZXT Havik 140|4 x 4 Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
OCZ SOLID 3 SSD|Seagate 1.0TB
2 X EVGA GTX 460 in SLI
Reply With Quote
  #207 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 06:16 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

I've installed FAH Mon now but it's currently N/A for everything. Not sure if I set it up right...
Reply With Quote
  #208 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 06:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

point to the fah folder, not the work folder.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #209 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 06:31 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,402

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
I've installed FAH Mon now but it's currently N/A for everything. Not sure if I set it up right...
I have a guide here:
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-progress.html

The folders that 3.0 speaks of are (pick the one that applies to you):
Quote:
Windows Vista GPU client:
C:\Users\(your user name)\AppData\Roaming\Folding@home-gpu

Windows Vista CPU client:
C:\Users\(your user name)\AppData\Roaming\Folding@home-x86

Windows XP GPU client:
C:\Documents and Settings\(your user name)\Application Data\Folding@home-gpu

Windows XP CPU client:
C:\Documents and Settings\(your user name)\Application Data\Folding@home-x86

The above directories are for the "System Tray" client. If you installed the Console client (when you run it you see a small black "Dos" like window), you need to point FahMon to the folder in which you downloaded and ran the Folding@home console client. This could be anywhere on your computer. For example, if you are like me, you may have put this download on your "Desktop". In that case, you would have to point FahMon to C:\Users\(yourusername)\Desktop\Folding@home-Win32-x86-623

If you use the SMP beta client, and used Xilikon's excellent guides on the FaH site or [H]ordeguides, you should point FahMon to C:\FAH . This is a suggested folder, especially in Vista, to avoid permissions issues.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #210 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 07:53 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

HWC slowly moving up to 102

Top 100 might not last long after may 15,2009

Last edited by Silvgearx; April 20, 2009 at 08:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
contest , fah , folding

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 08:24 PM
Folding@Home Passes The 5 Petaflop Mark LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 February 19, 2009 09:53 AM
Folding@home gpu benchmarks chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 49 December 4, 2008 05:06 PM