Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS NEWS > Site Announcements

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #151 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 02:15 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Yup - the GPU Client changed all that. Imagine running the contest 2 years ago, with the Clients we had back then...
That was before I started Folding but was one of the reasons I made sure I got a quad, who could of foreseen the Nvidia client turning into such a Folding powerhouse...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #152 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 03:47 PM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 296

My System Specs

Default

Is there any harm in running the GPU at max in folding (besides temp), like is there any wearing down of the components over prolonged folding sessions?
Reply With Quote
  #153 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 03:55 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Mine Fold 24/7 and are fine so far...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #154 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 05:01 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,627

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SneakySnake View Post
Is there any harm in running the GPU at max in folding (besides temp), like is there any wearing down of the components over prolonged folding sessions?
Well if a GPU lasts 10 years, running F@H would make it last maybe 6 years instead? The same rules apply. The more you use/abuse something, the sooner it'll die. At least that's my belief....I haven't actually had anything die on me yet...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #155 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 05:25 PM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 296

My System Specs

Default

Looks like 100% power it is then


On another note it doesn't seem to have updated anything on the F@H site - despite a score refresh every hour (so they say). I've finished one protein and have started the 2nd on my Homebuild, The PS3 is still chugging away on the 1st one. Also I not on the HWC team page yet as of tonight. All I did was set my username to SneakySnake and enter the team number (54196 right?) before starting to fold. Did I miss something?
Reply With Quote
  #156 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 05:40 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Nope, it may take a few hours for your WUs to appear.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #157 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 05:46 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SneakySnake View Post
Looks like 100% power it is then


On another note it doesn't seem to have updated anything on the F@H site - despite a score refresh every hour (so they say). I've finished one protein and have started the 2nd on my Homebuild, The PS3 is still chugging away on the 1st one. Also I not on the HWC team page yet as of tonight. All I did was set my username to SneakySnake and enter the team number (54196 right?) before starting to fold. Did I miss something?
It can sometimes take awhile for your first WU to register at Stanford, as far as I know they update every two (2) hours. As long as you have the right team number ( which you do) you will be fine.

Once your first WU show's up don't forget to ask for your Folding Tag here Folding tag requests

Edit/ Getting slow in my old age
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #158 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 06:54 PM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 296

My System Specs

Default

The rating is up now and now I am biting my tongue about my impatient posts earlier
Reply With Quote
  #159 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 07:00 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SneakySnake View Post
The rating is up now and now I am biting my tongue about my impatient posts earlier
It happens to all of us, glad to have you on the Team...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #160 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 07:27 PM
Pelt's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Default

Wow you guys are all posting huge numbers! I've been folding for 3 straight days and I only have 3000 points, I don't think I'll get 15,000 in time for the contest.

I think something maybe wrong though, I've got my PS3 folding for HWC and I have my PC folding aswell. My PC is an Athlon 7750 Oc'd to 3.1 GHZ and an ATI 3870. The PS3 has been steady since the 15th and so has the PC.

Shouldn't I have way more points than this? It seems like my PS3 is doing most of the work, maybe I downloaded the CPU program for the PC instead of the GPU one. Can you run both at the same time CPU and GPU?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
contest , fah , folding

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 08:24 PM
Folding@Home Passes The 5 Petaflop Mark LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 February 19, 2009 09:53 AM
Folding@home gpu benchmarks chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 49 December 4, 2008 05:06 PM