Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2008, 10:09 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default Phenom FX @4ghz beats 5ghz kentsfield

Reviewage - AMD Phenom FX - Kentsfield Beater

Or so the link says. Not much of a source, huh? :).

While I think its possible they are at 4ghz already, I reckon they're closer to low to mid 3.x ghz
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2008, 12:05 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2008, 12:07 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Uh, last I checked, Phenom didn't even equal Kentsfield, clock-for-clock, let alone beat it. There's no way this is legit.

Edit: Not sure what to think about that screenshot. Between the discrepancy between the Overdrive and CPU-Z voltage reports? 4.0 Ghz and 1.475 Vcore giving temps of 53 degrees at 100% load? All (visible) core temps the same? Meh... not damning, but a little weird.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2008, 12:17 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Yeah right, I'll take some of whatever they are smoking.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2008, 01:01 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,500

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't take CPUZ's word as 100% since it has many well known bugs reading voltages properly.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2008, 01:15 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default

I have a bridge over the Hudson to sell you. Speaking of which, I've also got a Nigerian lottery ticket with YOUR name on it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2008, 01:38 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

How much for the lottery ticket?
Whats the payout?
Interested - PM Me Info
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2008, 02:13 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FiXT View Post
How much for the lottery ticket?
Whats the payout?
Interested - PM Me Info
Hello kind sir of canada.

I am Alfred, a wealthy business man who, for some reason, has contacted you for your help in moving money across a border. While I could just take it out of a bank and move to another country, this concept eludes me. This is why I need your help, you will be rewarded handsomely.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2008, 04:24 PM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

Bah, I'll believe it when I see it.
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2008, 06:37 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

sheesh, who the heck cares? Deos anyone here even KNOW how to make a processor do more than sizzle pixels? Like, I mean, cmon on! get with the program! Are you like running Enterprise Oracle or something? Oh I know! I know! your actually doing a load distributed round robin High availibility web server rack that can with stand a hundred thousand page access a min? Plus, connected to a back end dual processor database server? Its a freakin desktop! And actually, I dont think you can actually tell the differnace between AMD or INTEL unless you have some cheesy application that has a dodgy rep teling you otherwise. ANd htan, out comes all the disclaimers LoL, oh, its got bugs that cant read ACTUAL FSB volts, or something stupid LoL. Last AMD I had it rocked, last Intel I had, it rocked. LAst Geforece card I had, it was kewl, same with radeon. Heck, if it lets me pwn in games, I like it. Like a vehicle, it servers a purpose.
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes