Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 01:18 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default Nvidia is rumoured to be making an x86 chip

Nvidia to announce x86 chip next week - The INQUIRER

So says the Inq. I doubt there is a shred of truth in this.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 01:58 PM
Spaceman-Spiff's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby.bc.ca
Posts: 355
Default

Problem is, a lot of patents for x86 are held by Intel. AMD and Via had some license agreements with Intel. If Intel doesn't want to give out anything to nVidia, then they won't be able to (legally) sell their x86 products.

If you want to know more, reading some Slashdot comments will shed some light.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 02:14 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spaceman-Spiff View Post
Problem is, a lot of patents for x86 are held by Intel. AMD and Via had some license agreements with Intel. If Intel doesn't want to give out anything to nVidia, then they won't be able to (legally) sell their x86 products.

If you want to know more, reading some Slashdot comments will shed some light.
I'm very aware of the limitations, just mentioning that this was at the Inq... thought it was funny :)
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 03:42 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

LOL

The NVIDIA x86 8 core CPU, including full PhysX implamentation - 1 universal GeForce driver, for your GPU, nForce motherboard and CPU !

Let's hope they don't screw up this time ;)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 04:01 PM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

Lots of luck with that, I hope they are not using Intel's instruction set documents.
Some intructions don't do what say they do, or what they should do, just plain old
mistakes that go back to the 386 days, but they keep the errors for compatibilty.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 04:59 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

I doubt they will make one.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 05:11 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

I read a similar article about this not too long ago but I can't remember where. I think it would be great if nVidia made a CPU. With Intel preparing to introduce Larrabee (who knows when?) that'll make 3 well rounded competitors. Each might have a complete platform to promote like AMD does with their "Spider" system.

AMD, nVidia, and Intel......... each making CPU's, GPU's and chipsets.

It not only sounds cool but I'll bet that's kind of what nVidia and Intel are each aiming for, to be like AMD!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 06:25 PM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

just a thought, but maybe Nvidia views amd as an almost dead carcus, and are just circling.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 07:20 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

There's been a lot of bumbling in the market around Nvidia too, I'm in a good circle of investors and there's been lots of rumors and talk about Nvidia and "something" soon.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2008, 07:41 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
I'm very aware of the limitations, just mentioning that this was at the Inq... thought it was funny :)
I don't see what's funny. Even the author of the article at the Inquirer had doubts. He didn't say that nVidia WILL come out with a CPU.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes