Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #91 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 05:28 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

There was a review of the TRUE on a i7 and it is the same Heatsink, only a different bracket. I was surprised so I asked the question on NCIX.com and I got the confirmation that it will be a bracket adjustment and not a whole heatsink for the TRUE. And they seemed to implie that it will be the same fot the majority of the heatsink out there. Now, maybe someone will get new better suited heat sink out there that give a better performance, but it seems you'll be able to use some of the current one with a simple new bracket.

I'll try to find the thread...
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #92 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 10:11 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Here is a full review of the i7 with benches. Translated from Chinese.
Translated version of http://hardware.mydrivers.com/2/118/118851.htm
Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 11:49 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Yeah, it's hard to know how to take those Chinese web site leaks, but if they're legit, there seems to be a mild improvement in single-core performance as well. Hope so.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 03:31 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

The chips really arn't really too much bigger, they are only slightly longer in one direction; it was the clearance space around the chip that grew beyond current cpu brackets, I was actually looking at my TRUE and wondering if I could make my own bracket the other day haha, guess I won't have to now!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 10:20 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Fudzilla

MSI Breaks memory bandwidth record.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 10:46 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

theres no more fsb right? can someone explain how that works? :) thanks
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #97 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 10:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

The more X58 boards and processors look tempting, the more I run away from them, I might be one of those few who can't afford to buy it..

Unless it is more affordable, so far I've seen most X58 boards are priced over $350 and processors are way too expensive too. I rather just buy myself a good Quad, a good overclocking lga775 board, 2 4870's (not a huge fan of too big screens), maybe even a DDR3 memory board, some nice DDR3 memory, and I'm set.

But that Rampage II Extreme, the board has been really looked at and they have really changed the layout, like bringing their on/off, overclocking buttons on a different spot right under the ATX 24pin, kind of surprised to see no heatpipe cooling.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #98 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 08:22 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phobia View Post
theres no more fsb right? can someone explain how that works? :) thanks

Same way AMD has their systems basically, no FSB and the memory controller is directly on the CPU.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #99 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 01:12 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
Fudzilla

MSI Breaks memory bandwidth record.
Neat, but some other details make me a little queasy. 1.576 Vcore to hold a little over 4GHz? I can only hope that the limits that apply to the Penryn stuff are no longer applicable.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #100 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 01:22 PM
S_G's Avatar
S_G S_G is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, home of the Canadiens
Posts: 830
Default

Interesting... Maybe I could reuse my precious Scythe Ninja rev.A. All I will probably need to do is get 2 small slices of metal to attach to the board, and then attach my heatsink clips into that metal. I'm just not too keen on the idea of not having the proper size heatspreader for my heatsink.
__________________
HTPC: MSI Z77A-G43 + i5-3570k@4.6 + 16GB DDR3-1600 + GTX 580 + X-Fi Platinum on water
Work: 13" MacBook Pro Retina 512GB
Old Workstation: X7DWA-N : 2x Xeon E5330 Quads @ 3GHz + 24GB FB-DIMM DDR2-800 on water
1x 8800 Ultra --> Sony GDM-FW900 + LVM-37w3se // HT Omega Striker ~ (optical) Pioneer SE-DIR800C ~+ SE-DHP800 / HD 280 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes