Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2013, 01:02 AM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 304

My System Specs

Default IVY-E likes FAST ram???

I heard that IVY-E CPUs will be fond of faster ram - IVY-E will make better use of FAST ram compared to Haswell or SB-E.

Any thoughts?

Last edited by mattydies; August 16, 2013 at 01:03 AM. Reason: Clean up.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2013, 01:10 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,070

My System Specs

Default

Choosing the Best DDR3 SDRAM for Ivy Bridge. Page 4 - X-bit labs
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2013, 10:51 AM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 304

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the input lowfat, BUT I was talking about the upcoming IVY-E X79 CPU's
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2013, 04:21 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 304

My System Specs

Default

I've heard that IVY-E officially supports up to 1866Mhz ram while SB-E officially supports up to 1600Mhz.
I ran my 3820 SB-E with 2400Mhz Mushkin ram effortlessly on an Assassin2 Mobo.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2013, 04:41 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,070

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattydies View Post
Thanks for the input lowfat, BUT I was talking about the upcoming IVY-E X79 CPU's
I doubt the results will differ at all. Ram speed these days is fast enough that even faster ram has little to no impact on real world performance.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2013, 08:16 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 646

My System Specs

Default

It would be pretty hard to fully utilize the bandwidth of 1333mhz quad channel DDR3.

However, your statement is accurate. Because it is quad channel memory, an increase in bandwidth via having faster clock speeds has double the effect when compared to dual channel memory. Someone please correct me if I am mistake as I do not own an ivy-E.

What application fully uses say 50,000 MB/sec of memory bandwidth? That would be a theoretical quad channel 2666 MHz speed, more or less.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2013, 10:56 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 304

My System Specs

Default

While diagnosing an error (Which turned out to be a bad BIOS 'file') I ran memtest. It said my memory had a bandwidth of 22GB/sec though I don't know if that was single channel 1 stick or what.

The ram is 2400Mhz Mushkin Redline with 4X4GB installed on an X79 board (Quad Channel).
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2013, 11:47 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^ 1600 VS 1866 VS 2300 ..really not a huge deal....actually as I like higher OC's on my CPU, I find it easier to achieve this by NOT using the fastest RAM out there ;) 1866 is my present sweet spot and cheaper than 2133 or 2400 !
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2013, 06:09 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,769
Default

I can tell you (without breaking NDAs) that there's very little difference compared to other platforms between 1600MHz, 1866MHz and 2300MHz.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2013, 10:05 AM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 304

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
^^^ 1600 VS 1866 VS 2300 ..really not a huge deal....actually as I like higher OC's on my CPU, I find it easier to achieve this by NOT using the fastest RAM out there ;) 1866 is my present sweet spot and cheaper than 2133 or 2400 !
Well... I did pay $150 for 4X4GB Mushkin Redline 2400Mhz RAM
Why do you find it easier to get HIGH OC's when NOT using the fastest ram out there? Some sort of 'strapping' conflict???

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I can tell you (without breaking NDAs) that there's very little difference compared to other platforms between 1600MHz, 1866MHz and 2300MHz.
Hmm... I suppose it will be what 'SHOULD' be expected.


Thanks for the input everyone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why I don't trust google or the likes Shadowmeph Off Topic 5 February 9, 2013 02:02 PM
My wife likes, I feel handcuffed - IPAD Mark Mac 2 March 28, 2011 04:49 PM
Its actually fast now Eagle Eye Off Topic 14 May 9, 2009 01:11 AM
Changed the site again! Me likes! Cptn Vortex Suggestions & Feedback 3 December 13, 2007 02:39 PM
The Barcelona is fast, REALLY FAST!: AMD Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 2 April 25, 2007 09:02 AM