Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2013, 09:55 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Well... I did pay $150 for 4X4GB Mushkin Redline 2400Mhz RAM
Why do you find it easier to get HIGH OC's when NOT using the fastest ram out there? Some sort of 'strapping' conflict???
Its easier on the IMC of the Chip when running slower RAM speeds and not populating all RAM Slots, generally easier to reach higher CPU speeds. Takes more tweaking is all with no guarentees.....personally I'd much rather have a system with higher CPU speeds and lower RAM speeds.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2013, 05:16 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
Its easier on the IMC of the Chip when running slower RAM speeds and not populating all RAM Slots, generally easier to reach higher CPU speeds. Takes more tweaking is all with no guarentees.....personally I'd much rather have a system with higher CPU speeds and lower RAM speeds.
OK... ok. I think I've read that before. Either way it makes sense and I would much rather CPU speed also. With my Gigabyte Assassin2 mobo I could tune the ram seperately from my CPU. So I could easily drop the speed of my ram (Lower than it's rated speed to make it easier on the IMC) without directly affecting the CPU (or the OC). Hense my wondering why slower RAM (Not slower settings) would be beneficial to Overclocking.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2013, 06:43 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,222

My System Specs

Default

The CPU still handles your RAM and has to constantly talk with it. The more work your CPU has to do "keeping up" with your RAM (i.e. more channels populated, higher speeds) the more it takes away from your over-clocking headroom. This analogy is not technically accurate ofc. Even though you think you can tun the RAM seperately from the CPU, they are still linked in a manner. Also, you run the risk of your RAM causing crashes when run out of spec and making your system unstable.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2013, 05:15 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
Its easier on the IMC of the Chip when running slower RAM speeds and not populating all RAM Slots, generally easier to reach higher CPU speeds. Takes more tweaking is all with no guarentees.....personally I'd much rather have a system with higher CPU speeds and lower RAM speeds.
While I disagree with this point "Its easier on the IMC of the Chip", I do agree with your statement that populating ALL RAM slots reduces OC headroom.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2013, 05:33 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,634

My System Specs

Default

Outside of extreme benchers who can benefit from that extra little bump that higher clocked memory can sometimes get them, I've always seen higher spec'd memory as giving me more options WRT bus speeds to bump CPU clocks rather than something that was going to give me a performance boost on it's own. These days we don't run into it as much because CPU clock speeds are mostly controlled by unlocked multi's as opposed to higher bus speeds X locked multi's, but in the past it was often memory limits holding back CPU OCs.

I'm sure the benchers will chime in if they see this thread, but for as long as I can remember, higher CPU clocks almost always trumped higher mem speeds by a wide margin.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2013, 09:17 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oversized Rooster View Post
While I disagree with this point "Its easier on the IMC of the Chip", I do agree with your statement that populating ALL RAM slots reduces OC headroom.
Open ended, please explain......they my experience OC'ing a "weak" IMC on a CPU immediately rears itself as I progress they OC'ing.....some Chips just plain suck when trying to run say 1866 vs 1600 or 2133 vs 1866.....

Swapping out Chips with the same and low n behold the Chip may handle the higher Memory speed fine.....I figure tapping the IMC as the culprit is a reasonable conclusion ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why I don't trust google or the likes Shadowmeph Off Topic 5 February 9, 2013 01:02 PM
My wife likes, I feel handcuffed - IPAD Mark Mac 2 March 28, 2011 03:49 PM
Its actually fast now Eagle Eye Off Topic 14 May 9, 2009 12:11 AM
Changed the site again! Me likes! Cptn Vortex Suggestions & Feedback 3 December 13, 2007 01:39 PM
The Barcelona is fast, REALLY FAST!: AMD Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 2 April 25, 2007 08:02 AM