Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 02:53 PM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default socket G34 to replace AMx socket family

i found this on techpower up today and it seems pretty interesting AMD Vishera Packs Quad-Channel DDR3 IMC, G34 En Route Desktop? | techPowerUp. but one thing that im wondering is 1. will it have significant ipc increase and 2. how the hell will they fit a G34 socket on and quadchannel memory on an atx board?
__________________
Amd....definitely a blond female.....not much on the cpu side, but always strutting about showing off her gpus
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 02:57 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Nice little tidbit youve found there. I don't see why they couldnt fit a G34 processor on a ATX mobo really, Just might to get a little creative or make it E-ATX for some breathing room.

In regards to your first question, the inclusion of "Hypertransport Assist" might help performance some and the extra 2 module couldnt hurt either.

As always with rumors though, its "wait and see"
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 02:58 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

How to fit a G34 and quad channel on an ATX board you say? I have one right next to me, actually. This one: Super Micro Computer, Inc. - Aplus Products | Motherboards | H8SGL-F
It's the Wife's new rig.

edit: here - A brother for Deux?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 04:14 PM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
How to fit a G34 and quad channel on an ATX board you say? I have one right next to me, actually. This one: Super Micro Computer, Inc. - Aplus Products | Motherboards | H8SGL-F
It's the Wife's new rig.

edit: here - A brother for Deux?
interesting board. but i see issues with clearance on ram and between the cpu and gpu when using a tower heatsink.
__________________
Amd....definitely a blond female.....not much on the cpu side, but always strutting about showing off her gpus
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 05:12 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is online now
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by techman95 View Post
interesting board. but i see issues with clearance on ram and between the cpu and gpu when using a tower heatsink.

Welcome to the wonderful world of quad channel.

As more and more peeps are finding out its just plain easier to go for a sealed water unit than "bother" with air towers. Just look at the socket 2011 mobos for proof. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 06:10 PM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Welcome to the wonderful world of quad channel.

As more and more peeps are finding out its just plain easier to go for a sealed water unit than "bother" with air towers. Just look at the socket 2011 mobos for proof. ;)
thats why i have an h100
__________________
Amd....definitely a blond female.....not much on the cpu side, but always strutting about showing off her gpus
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1156 Evga p55 FTW Socket Burn (Foxconn Socket) Myst88 CPU's and Motherboards 9 May 8, 2011 02:53 AM
New?Used Socket 775 CPU help? bushwickbill CPU's and Motherboards 9 March 12, 2010 05:34 AM
Socket 939 vs. AM2 clone63 CPU's and Motherboards 4 April 12, 2009 07:32 AM
LF: Socket 462 (Socket A) Motherboard cb2222 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 October 3, 2008 03:19 PM
AMD Socket G34 on its way Cheator CPU's and Motherboards 5 July 29, 2008 11:56 PM