Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 05:13 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

if they changed name from 600s to 700s, it would have been for "marketing" since AMD has 7000s, and noobs would goto the PC store and see 600s, or 7000s and say wow 7000 is a big number
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2012, 09:40 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
if they changed name from 600s to 700s, it would have been for "marketing" since AMD has 7000s, and noobs would goto the PC store and see 600s, or 7000s and say wow 7000 is a big number
Uh no.....it would simply be to fill the Mobile Market GPU's with a series name, as in 280's to 480's...remember Series 3xx was dedicated to Mobile GPU's? Has absolutely nothing to do with Marketing....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2012, 09:59 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

Hmm all I want is a new gpu that would be better than my 480 SLI. So far the 6990 is the only one that is close.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2012, 11:17 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TedShackley View Post
if they changed name from 600s to 700s, it would have been for "marketing" since AMD has 7000s, and noobs would goto the PC store and see 600s, or 7000s and say wow 7000 is a big number
Absolutely nothing to do with it. Otherwise on that logic the 4XX series from nVIdia would have been out when the 4XXX series from ATI was. Not the 5000 series to which it competed. It just doesn't work that way, and the Vast majority of people who buy a Graphics card beyond $100 do some research before shopping.
While most of the cards below $100 are for System builders and OEM's.



@ Belgolas - Well the 6990 might be a powerful card but its very limited production. I would opt for 1 7950 now, and then one in the near future for something really really powerful.
Even if you could still find a 6990, the price for it isn't worth it with a new architecture out in the marketplace.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2012, 06:48 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 164
Default

Why would you want to replace SLI 480's anyways? If it's just some performance SLI 7970's or 580's will give you that. A 6990 isn't even much of a step up. If you want a single card that's going to beat SLI 480's significantly you're waiting for the 7990 or 690/790/whatever nvidia calls the dual GPU kepler.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2012, 08:35 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

No I don't want to sell my cards. I am just saying it would be nice to see a single GPU beat my dual 480's which is not gonna happen this time around. So I most likely have to wait for the 790(unless this gen from nvidia is 700 so then I have to wait for 890).

I won't be selling my GPU's till I can't run most games on high. So far pretty much everything is maxed including AA so I am completely happy. I just love building computers and its been so long....
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2012, 05:07 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ Thats why I got a couple of Ultra 3GB Cards ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 02:38 PM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

So March 23rd? Hope so!
http://en.expreview.com/2012/03/03/n...3rd/21573.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How is the 200 Nvidia series GPU running for everyone? Jared11 Video Cards 2 September 30, 2011 09:20 AM
NVIDIA GTX 300 Series Performance Slides Leaked FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 8 December 14, 2009 11:12 AM
NVIDIA's GTX 200-series Specs Revealed Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 21, 2008 10:57 AM
Nvidia 173.63 WHQL for 6/7/8/9 Series Cards SKYMTL Video Cards 5 May 7, 2008 04:38 PM