Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2011, 12:43 AM
Grampa's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 185

My System Specs

Default Rumoured: AMD Bulldozer related stuff...

Not sure if there is any truth in this article, however it talks more about shipment dates for Bulldozer based products.

Along with possible processor lineup.

AMD Finalizes Shipment Dates for Next-Gen Chips - X-bit labs

Keep in mind at the bottom of this article states AMD did not comment.

However wasn't there an industry show around that time of year? E3 I believe? I cant remember.
Perhaps they will have more solid info at that point.

Update: March 14, 2010


Initial Zambezi release lineup - AMD FX processor information

Four AMD Bulldozer Chips Incoming: Details Revealed - X-bit labs





source


Product positioning Q2-'11



source


Box Art
Some very sharp looking box art is rumoured to be leaked.

Leaked: AMD Next-Gen "Bulldozer" FX CPU Retail Box Concepts - Bright Side Of News*









(Images courtesy of Nordic Hardware.se)
Source


AMD has not commented on any of this information.

Last edited by Grampa; March 14, 2011 at 06:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2011, 03:11 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Shipment to begin on June 20th 2011

Sounds like I'll be keeping my P45 platform a little longer...SandyBridge lost a little bit of it's "luster"...

Performing 50% faster than Phenom II? How does that compares to OCed Sandy 2600K?
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)

Last edited by Delavan; March 8, 2011 at 03:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2011, 04:19 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

High End FX series, what will be the price tag, $ 1k ???
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2011, 08:17 AM
francisw19's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 246
Default

If true, it's a bit later than I was hoping. I'm sure it will be worth the wait though.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2011, 08:20 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Yes it's a long time but if it's what it take to take AMD back in the game. I hope these CPU will kick ass so I can finally go back with the green team for CPU. I miss them a lot ( dunno why lol )
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2011, 09:11 AM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 473

My System Specs

Default

So, BD is an AM3+ socket? So and AM3+ socket can fit into an AM3 board? But an AM3+ board cant use an AM3 socket?
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2011, 09:43 AM
Ebbtides's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Thompson, Manitoba
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
So, BD is an AM3+ socket? So and AM3+ socket can fit into an AM3 board? But an AM3+ board cant use an AM3 socket?
Yep, I think that's the format.

Either way, I'll be interested to see what pricetag they put on the FX mantle. If it's around the 1000 mark, it better be worth it.

Here's to hurting the wallet come summer!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2011, 12:00 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,198

My System Specs

Default

you can't put AM3+ into a AM3 socket mobo, but AM3+ socket mobos will be backwards compatible with AM3.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2011, 03:36 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
If it's around the 1000 mark, it better be worth it.
They can try to "revive" the FX moniker all they want, I doubt it will deliver enough OOmph to warrant a 1K price....

I remember when I bought my Athlon 64 3400+ Clawhammer ($429 at the time)...the FX-51 was pretty much the same (or close) and was selling for about $750...

AMD, if their CPUs perform twice as fast as a Phenom II, it doesn't warrant a 1K price...IMHO
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2011, 03:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,198

My System Specs

Default

AMD is notoriously bad at coming to the market late and then just charging lower prices to make up for it... Damn, if only they would actually try to compete at intel's game to drive down prices :(
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
release date for amd 6970 CTA Rumor Mill 3 November 11, 2010 09:02 PM
AMD Introduces Sub-$100 AMD Phenom II Processor, and AMD Athlon II Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 January 25, 2010 03:31 PM
Why doesn't NCIXUS sell AMD Processors?! Luckk Off Topic 19 November 14, 2009 10:05 AM
AMD Rumoured Release of 6-Core Desktop Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 10 September 2, 2009 11:53 AM
AMD Preparing AM3 Sempron Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 20, 2009 01:19 PM