Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2011, 12:59 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

I HIGHLY doubt AMD's gonna try to sell there FX branded cpu's at anything beyond the $500+ mark, especialy if they do just barely catchup to the 1366 Core i7's. But then again, won't know what can occure till launch.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2011, 01:41 AM
Grampa's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 185

My System Specs

Default

updated first post with some new rumours :)

Mods please feel free to edit my post as needed, I'm new to all this linking of images & info
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2011, 07:24 AM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

If it does prove to be 50% faster (give or take), then the MOST I would pay for it is 1.5x the *average* going price of an 1100T. Same goes for quad core Bulldozers too. As for the 8-core Bulldozer, it better be like two 975's or something and then some, since there;s no Phenom II equivalent.
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2011, 09:43 AM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

so is the price chart for a mother board and cpu or just a cpu cause its titled system pricing
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2011, 09:51 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

idle wattage should prove interesting with all minus one cores shut down.

also i hear that cmeth will have some juicy numbers for his cinebench thread ;)
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 07:11 PM
Wi-Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dauphin Manitoba Canada
Posts: 288

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
So, BD is an AM3+ socket? So and AM3+ socket can fit into an AM3 board? But an AM3+ board cant use an AM3 socket?


ASUS First to Provide AM3+ CPU Ready Solution for Current AM3 and Future AM3+ Motherboards
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 10:30 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 939

My System Specs

Default

So basicly this is still going to be the same tech with a twist?
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 10:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,183

My System Specs

Default

Basically, you don't play by Intel's rules and you don't have to buy everything again when you upgrade your CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 11:26 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

basically wait for a proper am3+ mobo to drop your cpu in? :)

im sure they couldve kept compatibility up, at east in the beginning. how many people with duallies
might fetch a quad dozer when it drops on the shelves, but will it fit? :)
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 08:00 AM
Ebbtides's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Thompson, Manitoba
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default


BIOS upgrade is great, but I just hope the new AM3+ boards they make come with the spiffy UEFI that the Sandy Bridges have.

Call me crazy, but that's honestly a huge selling point for me. I'm tired of looking at the boring old BIOS.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
release date for amd 6970 CTA Rumor Mill 3 November 11, 2010 09:02 PM
AMD Introduces Sub-$100 AMD Phenom II Processor, and AMD Athlon II Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 January 25, 2010 03:31 PM
Why doesn't NCIXUS sell AMD Processors?! Luckk Off Topic 19 November 14, 2009 10:05 AM
AMD Rumoured Release of 6-Core Desktop Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 10 September 2, 2009 11:53 AM
AMD Preparing AM3 Sempron Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 20, 2009 01:19 PM