Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2010, 07:07 PM
Jamula66's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default New AMD CPUs [Youtube]

Just saw this on Linus's blog and it looks like we're about to get a new CPU from AMD. A bit late for Christmas but still interesting.

YouTube - AMD Vision Black "Best of AMD" Gaming Machine Build Teaser Linus Tech Tips

Hint @ 3:50
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2010, 07:29 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hmm...didnt dozer need am3+ ? :)

regardless, if you happen to stick your nose in server business from time to time ahem ahem, you may learn of stuff before it reaches the desktop ;)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 09:56 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Cr4P Linus!

Why the teaser CPU thingy...wanna know what's in there!

So, Question: When CPUs are packed in those plastic trays, they're OEM CPUs for system builders right?
Could it be possible that, at this time, system builders are already receiving lots of BULLDOZERs???

could it just be a 1100T or faster X6?
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 10:10 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Hrmmmm.... I doubt very much if it's bulldozer as I'm pretty sure they won't drop into an AM3 motherboard.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 10:56 AM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 604

My System Specs

Default

I'm with sswilson, Bulldozer won't be AM3. Not only that, but it will still be several months I think before we actually see bulldozer in action. I have a feeling it's going to be a new hex core or possibly a 12-core
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 11:01 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Heh.... I somehow doubt that we're going to see a 12 core AM3 proc, but I'll keep some room on my CC just in case.... ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 11:05 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

i wouldn't hold my breath for BD before 2011, more likely a new six core
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 11:48 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

dan, care to elaborate ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 11:58 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

I also agree that it can't be a 12-core CPU yet. At least not without a manufacturing process smaller. THe G34 Opterons have 12 cores sure, but theyre also physically much different and thus would never ever fit in something like a Crosshair. My bet would lean more towards an 8-core black edition CPU that stays within the 140w TDP max limit for such boards.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 12:00 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

my think is just a faster hex core black is all. but only linus and time will tell lol
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp programs for AMD cpus jcmaz Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 June 8, 2009 05:36 AM
FS: AMD CPUs and Motherboards JD Buy/Sell & Trade 10 March 28, 2008 03:47 PM
New Notebook CPUs from AMD Thund3rball Press Releases & Tech News 15 March 13, 2008 09:56 AM
AMD Tricore CPUs Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 October 24, 2007 04:23 PM