Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2010, 07:43 AM
Wi-Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dauphin Manitoba Canada
Posts: 288

My System Specs

Default AMD 12 cores

This could be a CPU that makes the folders that bought the 6 core i7 wonder if they did the right thing. Fudzilla
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2010, 07:49 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wi-Fuzzy View Post
This could be a CPU that makes the folders that bought the 6 core i7 wonder if they did the right thing. Fudzilla
It ain't exactly cheap . Whole new platform: G34 socket, quad-channel DDR3, etc etc. But still, very nice procs, although if I'm not mistakne the 6000-series is for multi-sockets whereas the 4000-series will be for single or dual socket applications.

The procs themselves are huge too!


Apparently G34 is has 1944 pins/pads! Sweet Jesus!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2010, 07:58 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wi-Fuzzy View Post
This could be a CPU that makes the folders that bought the 6 core i7 wonder if they did the right thing. Fudzilla


X12 6164 runs at 1.7GHz
X12 6176 is clocked at 2.3GHz


with the actual folding client, you can use only 8 cores, and at those speed you will never finish the work on time.


.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2010, 08:05 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Just a little correction, you can use more than 8 cores for folding, but not on a window based machine. An all Linux rig will work.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2010, 08:22 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

what is actually a wonder is the power envelope..65 watts for a 12 core that doesnt run at 5mhz? whohoo!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2010, 10:52 AM
Wi-Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dauphin Manitoba Canada
Posts: 288

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
X12 6164 runs at 1.7GHz
X12 6176 is clocked at 2.3GHz


with the actual folding client, you can use only 8 cores, and at those speed you will never finish the work on time.


.
This would chew up -bigadv work units. An i7 920-965 would perform like 5.7 ish cores (hyper threaded is not the same as physical cores) The i7 980 would probably be about a little over 8 cores in the real world. The AMD may be down on mhz...but would have about 4 extra cores...performance wise. I hope that made sense....?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2010, 11:00 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

let's do the match

let's say the 7-980 run the equivalent of 8 cores at 4,5 ghz so that make 36 put the 12 core of the AMD at 2,3 it's make 27,6 , because for OC your 12 core , you need a board, and this is a server CPU, so no OC
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2010, 11:35 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,400

My System Specs

Default

As mentioned, you would need to run native Linux (no vmware) to run more than 8 cores.

At those power levels though, I would be really interested in seeing how much PPD/power one of these CPUs produced and needed with all 12 cores unleashed.

The clock speeds are a little slow, and I don't know anything about Opteron OC. I wonder ow the 1.7GHZ 12 core would stand up to a 4GHZ HT 8 core in PPD?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2010, 11:54 AM
Wi-Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dauphin Manitoba Canada
Posts: 288

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
let's do the match

let's say the 7-980 run the equivalent of 8 cores at 4,5 ghz so that make 36 put the 12 core of the AMD at 2,3 it's make 27,6 , because for OC your 12 core , you need a board, and this is a server CPU, so no OC
LOL...after 4.5 ghz of 24/7 overclock...for say 6 months, we can have a conversation about which one is running. I think your overclock estimate may be a little optimistic..to say the least. It may pass benchmarks....but 24/7 %100 cpu usage is another thing alltogether.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2010, 12:33 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
The clock speeds are a little slow, and I don't know anything about Opteron OC. I wonder ow the 1.7GHZ 12 core would stand up to a 4GHZ HT 8 core in PPD?

it's a special chips, as CM say, it need a new socket and probably chipset too, so I dough that will be an option in the bios to oc this beast ,


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wi-Fuzzy View Post
LOL...after 4.5 ghz of 24/7 overclock...for say 6 months,.
I will have no problem to run the cpu at 4,5 ghz for 6 months, Lowfat do better with a 920.



and before someone told me I'm a Intel fan boy, I just reply to this

"This could be a CPU that makes the folders that bought the 6 core i7 wonder if they did the right thing."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD = 12 Cores Para_Franck Rumor Mill 28 July 16, 2008 11:27 PM
AMD's Phenom X3 8000 Series: Fighting Two Cores with Three? Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 April 25, 2008 11:56 AM
AMD Responds to Intel Pressure With New Tri-cores Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 1 April 24, 2008 11:26 AM
8 Intel cores faster than 16 AMD cores? Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 0 May 24, 2007 06:54 AM