Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 02:02 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I taking a trip to barcelona! hehe...we'll see
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 09:20 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,835
Default q9350?

why has the cheapest q9series only got 6mb of cache. Its a great price but seems odd not to have 6mb instead of 8?
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 09:30 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Acton, Ontario
Posts: 2,465

My System Specs

Default

Most likely the other 2MB of cache is no good and this is the best way to sell them off as good CPU's. I for one am going to be forced to resist the upgrade bug, especially since I have no need for more power/speed. I did myself a favor and switched to a 64 Bit OS so benchmarks don't work properly and now I don't run them.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 10:21 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,835
Default ah i see

ok that makes more sense.
As you just got your quad upto 3ghz i guess its pretty pointless to think about upgrading from a xeon to these.
Id just like to wake this GPU up a bit more and have some more flexibility for the future. Currently the 939 system runs the new stuff very well though. Im not really bothered about benches either, just running things smoothly.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 10:29 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Acton, Ontario
Posts: 2,465

My System Specs

Default

Get yourself a 24" or larger LCD running 1920X1200 or more resolution to really push that card the hardest.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 10:33 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,835
Default yes

Thats on my "to do list" along with the new year platform upgrade.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Six-Core CPU in 2008 CasheKicker Press Releases & Tech News 5 February 26, 2008 09:33 AM
Pricing Error?? oldbetang RAM 37 February 14, 2008 10:41 PM
No Man's Lan 2008 vertex112 Canadian LAN Parties & Events 20 February 13, 2008 11:18 AM
16 Intel 45nm CPUs released with pricing Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 9 November 15, 2007 11:28 AM
Intel 1333MHz FSB CPU pricing Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 3 March 12, 2007 06:59 PM