Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 07:43 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,509

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
This would be the result:

Unfortunately my board does not allow any oc'ing.

And I have a feeling Mr 3.0 already has a belated Xmas gift in mind for himself, doesnt he?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 07:47 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

That seems to be who this board is aimed at; folks who want to OC a dual rig.

Does anybody know if this is just a server board (ie. Xeons, Registered Dimms) with some OC options, or will this thing take a couple of 920s and regular ram? I would consider this rig (seriously) if I could use some current gear on it.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 07:47 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkh2 View Post
I can just imagine one of these boards on a crazy watercooled loop. CPU to CPU tubing would just be too nuts. Can't wait to see someone on HWC get their hands on this and post up some pics!
Couple people on here(see above, and them mine below) have already done this



Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
That seems to be who this board is aimed at; folks who want to OC a dual rig.

Does anybody know if this is just a server board (ie. Xeons, Registered Dimms) with some OC options, or will this thing take a couple of 920s and regular ram? I would consider this rig (seriously) if I could use some current gear on it.
Unfortunately(or fortunately in my eyes, since I'm already using a server board without said features) ), it will be a basically be a server board with overclocking options, and enthusiast features(high number of digital pwm's, etc, etc). You will still need an Xeon 55xx or 56xx series CPU.

The reasoning for it is this, for the CPU's to talk to each other, they need a QPI link direct to each other, that means the CPU must support at least 2 QPI Links, which only the Xeon CPU's currently have. HOWEVER it is unknown if Intel will unlock the 2n'd QPI link in the upcoming Core i7 985 EE, it is a possibility, but I won't hold your breath.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!

Last edited by Chilly; January 2, 2010 at 07:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 11:37 AM
TokeR's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

Okay cool.

Thanks Sagath
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2010, 12:21 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,094

My System Specs

Default

EVGA shows us their Dual Socket 1366 Board :: TweakTown eye CANDY :) :) :)
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 01:06 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,094

My System Specs

Default close up photos

SemiAccurate :: EVGA's dual 1366 board explored
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 08:30 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,094

My System Specs

Default EVGA posted this at exteme

11_10.jpg - ImageHost.org
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 09:09 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,094

My System Specs

Default

http://www.guru3d.com/imageview.php?image=21769 Heat SInks :) :)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 09:40 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,094

My System Specs

Default

http://xs.to/image-11EE_4B48EF0F.jpg Pritty :) :)
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 09:54 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,094

My System Specs

Default Missed this one

Vidio YouTube - EVGA Dual LGA1366 Xeon Motherboard at CES 2010

Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
1366 x 2 , classified , evga , i7 x 2 , win

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New EVGA 1366 build MarkOne New Builds 42 March 2, 2010 06:34 PM
[WTB] i7 1366 socket Dazmode Buy/Sell & Trade 2 January 1, 2010 04:10 PM
EVGA X58 3X SLI Classified LGA 1366 Motherboard Review Comment Thread 3oh6 CPU's and Motherboards 82 June 4, 2009 07:47 AM
Which 1366 motherboard? ejm New Builds 8 May 26, 2009 04:54 PM