Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2009, 11:29 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Okay, perhaps not "breakthroughs" per se, but I mean there's definitely SOMETHING every 6 months, let's face it. It's always a new something on the horizon. I remember back when yeah Crysis was bringing the 8800's to their knees, ATI reared up with the 55nm 4800 series which kicked ass. Nvidia got messed up big time because they didn't have the new tech. Every 3-6 months there's a new GPU, or a new spin on one, or something. Less than a year ago the highest performance hard drive you could get for the average guy was a 10K Velociraptor or something. Now they got $400 SSD's which are like light speed compared to a regular 7200RPM but the price doesn't justify the gains.

And mind-you, Tech may have not doubled in the 6 months after Crysis was out, but definitely there was already 55nm on the horizon or it was already out. Perhaps that didn't play Crysis at a whopping 150FPS, but damn straight it was better at it then the 8800's, which would take a beating while the 4800's put up a damn good fight, so to speak. =D
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 12:31 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Idiotic for consumer-based products. There are next to no 64-bit supporting programs to begin with let alone 128-bit. That's not even mentioning that 128-bit processors are still half a decade away.
When I was in grade 10 (1993) my business class was studying this new advent called 'debit' from a company called Interac.. Rumour was that it was a bank card system that could directly transfer money from your bank account to a vendor for POS purchases. Rumour was that it would never work, that no one would ever trust a piece of plastic instead of cash..

I wonder what ever happened to that system???

I also seem to remember someone in the 70's saying something about how nobody would ever own a computer too..
Hrm..

What do people know..??
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2009, 07:12 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Guelph/ Toronto
Posts: 120

My System Specs

Default

Everyone needs to stop referring to Crysis performance as the hallmark of technological advancement. It uses an un-optimised graphics engine and favours certain gpu's. Yes Crysis is a stunning game but not an appropriate marker for technological progress.
Hurray for Boobies
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2009, 05:42 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,927

My System Specs

Default

Fine you want a new benchmark. Try and run Empire Total War max settings at 2560 x 1600 with 8 full armies. That will cause any system to be a slide show.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2009, 06:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 189

My System Specs

Default

Or Rome Total War, it's horribly optimized for newer hardware compared to Empire TW. But they both favour and are more dependant on CPU's than GPUs, so they probably aren't the best benchmarks for a graphics card.
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2009, 11:27 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
I think that can be done.
Quote:
Even with 4 285's you still wouldn't get that much performance.
__________________
Hate to "burst your bubble" or "rain on your Tri Sli 260 greatness" thier Belgolas, BUT yes...thier is a fellow on the Evga Forum with a new Classified x4 Board and 4 x 285 Classified GPU's that can average about 125 FPS running the Crysis Benchmark @ 1920 x 1200 n x16Q.....so thier you have it...ImmaPC isn't off at all....technology is well beyond Tri Sli 260 or even 280 I'm afraid!! :)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2009, 07:19 AM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Heheh, thanks for the backup there RJ. Forgot about that fellow, he would have been a good point to use in my retort XD

I'm not gonna go on about Crysis vs. GPU performance vs. release dates, you guys get the picture. If Crysis 3 under DX11 were to come out tomorrow, how long would it be before the 5870 becomes the 5890? Or the GT300 is released? How would "Fermi" perform although it's in a first-gen state?
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2009, 01:19 AM
Meta|Gear's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 62
Default

mmmmmm
__________________
RFD

Intel i5 2500K | Corsair H50 | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H | 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1600Mhz | R9 270X | Antec Gamer 900W
Kingston 64GB V100 - WD Black 500GB - WD Green 1.5TB | CM HAF 922 | Asus VW246H
| Logitech G15 v2 | Logitech G9x
| Logitech G930
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 12:43 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
How about we figure out what to do with 64bit before 128?

32bit is still mainstream compared to 64bit.
+1

Optimized 64 bit applications would perform better than raw 128 bit ones IMO (or 64 bit emulation on a 128 bit system).
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 01:04 PM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

excel has used 64 bit since forever, emulated until 64 bit processors came out.
I've used 64 bit for over 20 years, only recently have processors supported it, but its been standard on compilers for a long time.
128 bit is in the IEEE 754 standard. Right now operations using it take 4 times as long to process,
just like 64 bit took 4 times as long to process on a 32 bit processor.

I can't see MS making one for a long time though.... but yeah mull it over....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any benefits of installing Windows 7 64 bit vs 32 bit? HoTiCE_ O/S's, Drivers & General Software 20 November 5, 2009 04:35 AM
Windows 7 64-bit RC and Windows Home Server Justin Cider O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 August 8, 2009 05:24 AM
Windows XP has a bit more life enaberif Press Releases & Tech News 49 June 23, 2009 10:55 PM
Windows XP 64 bit D4ng3r O/S's, Drivers & General Software 12 December 15, 2008 06:05 AM
Thermalright Ultra-120 A & SI-128 SE Review @ X-bit 1Tanker Air Cooling 7 July 16, 2008 01:22 PM