Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 09:03 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmaPC View Post
I think that can be done.
Ya what can play Crysis at 2560 x 1600 with everything maxed? Including AA and AF.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2009, 10:12 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

I dunno, be creative. 3 or 4 285's, 2 295's, 3 (4?) 5870's...Think extreme We can't do it very...cheaply, but I'm almost certain it can be done one way or another.
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2009, 05:40 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 102

My System Specs

Default

People, people there are nothing wrong with pushing the envelope of technology, sure you can complain how 128 bit is useless for consumers but Microsoft also cater Businesses and Universities. It couldn't hurt to have a piece of technology available in the near future.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2009, 09:03 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmaPC View Post
I dunno, be creative. 3 or 4 285's, 2 295's, 3 (4?) 5870's...Think extreme We can't do it very...cheaply, but I'm almost certain it can be done one way or another.
Even with 4 285's you still wouldn't get that much performance.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 09:05 AM
eunoia's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Longueuil
Posts: 112

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
I loathe to see how bloated software will be when we get to the limit of 64-bit computing and into 128-bit...
Starting with, you guessed it, Windows 8 and 9.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTheEnchanter View Post
Allow me to feed the rumor : a 128 bit os will be necessary to run Crysis 2.
At least!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 12:27 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Idiotic for consumer-based products. There are next to no 64-bit supporting programs to begin with let alone 128-bit. That's not even mentioning that 128-bit processors are still half a decade away.
SKY.. I agree.. but I hate to say this to you.. remember Intel releasing quad core processors when there were almost no software to utilize all 4 cores, and now the 8 cores.. except for stress tests, I'm still to see real apps/games to use all 8 cores..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 12:40 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
SKY.. I agree.. but I hate to say this to you.. remember Intel releasing quad core processors when there were almost no software to utilize all 4 cores, and now the 8 cores.. except for stress tests, I'm still to see real apps/games to use all 8 cores..
Nothing truly supports 4 cores either! Let alone 8.

We live in a world where manufacturers shove shit down our throats and make a profit.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 01:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Nothing truly supports 4 cores either! Let alone 8.

We live in a world where manufacturers shove shit down our throats and make a profit.
Thank you.. exactly what I was trying to say.. it's all about the money, Microsoft know they are many idiots out there who will buy the best..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 02:19 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

I bought i7 not because it was "the best," and not because I needed it either. I bought it because I thought how convenient having 8 cores would be. I literally CAN play Crysis, and have something going in the background (i.e. Insert anything here). It's real, real fun.

I don't have the best, but I got something pretty high-end, and it feels good knowing I won't have to upgrade for awhile. My Q6600 was originally a E2120 which then became a E7400, or something like those two I forgot. But now I *although technically* have EIGHT cores. 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,EIGHT, BITCH!

I'm sure there are absolute penises out there who go and buy something new as soon as it comes 'round the bend, and PURELY for the fact that they want THE BEST. I wouldn't be surprised if there's 10 greaseballs on NCIX right now, buying a i7 975, that freaky 8-slot classified board, some 12GB of DDR3-2000 CL8, 4 5870's/285's/2 x 295's + 1 9800GT, and a big phat PSU and a ton of W/Cing to go with it all. I wouldn't be surprised in the least.

EDIT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
Even with 4 285's you still wouldn't get that much performance.
It's yet to be tested. Fine then, 5870's in Quadfire.
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One

Last edited by ImmaPC; October 12, 2009 at 02:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 02:24 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

I'd take this rumor more seriously if Microsoft would at least standardize 64-bit in their current operating systems. And while there are articles outlining how certain x64 commands can potentially benefit software efficiency and performance, I haven't seen the same for x128.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any benefits of installing Windows 7 64 bit vs 32 bit? HoTiCE_ O/S's, Drivers & General Software 20 November 5, 2009 04:35 AM
Windows 7 64-bit RC and Windows Home Server Justin Cider O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 August 8, 2009 05:24 AM
Windows XP has a bit more life enaberif Press Releases & Tech News 49 June 23, 2009 10:55 PM
Windows XP 64 bit D4ng3r O/S's, Drivers & General Software 12 December 15, 2008 06:05 AM
Thermalright Ultra-120 A & SI-128 SE Review @ X-bit 1Tanker Air Cooling 7 July 16, 2008 01:22 PM