Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 06:21 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default Intel six core 32mn on the way ;)



six cores 32mn, so they probably gonna slap 2 tri cores together ? And don't you guys think its coming out too fast? i7 just got in the market. And six cores probably gonna cost $1k as to when the Q6600 came out .

I prefer they make higher clocked CPU rather than octo or decem cores

Quote:
ntel six core 32nm comes after Q1 2010 Written by Fuad Abazovic Friday, 20 February 2009 12:51


Core i7 "Bloomfield" to last until then



According to Intel's latest plans the Nehalem iteration called Bloomfield should last at least until the end of Q1 2010. We are talking roughly one year from today and we are still not sure that even then Intel will rush to replace quad-core CPUs with six core CPUs.

The main issue will be the performance gain, as we believe that clock to clock Nehalem and Westmere based CPU would have a significant performance difference. Westmere will have a few new instructions and innovations over Nehalem / Bloomfield, but unless it runs at much higher clock, it won't make much of a difference in performance.

Computer games and most applications today, including your browser, simply won't benefit from six cores. In the server world you already have six core Core 2 based CPUs and there will be a Nehalem based upgrade this year, with more than four cores.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 06:39 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Intel 32nm
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 09:21 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

Intel 7XXX series is already a 6 core. I'm shocked we haven't seen this earlier...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 11:28 AM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,677
Default

i'm hoping its not 2 3core cpus stuck together, if it is true 6 core I will be getting one, if not i'll be getting a 32nm quad
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 12:34 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

yeah the 7XXX has a retail price of about 3 000 $ US !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 01:38 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
six cores 32mn
What's a man'o'neater? HEHE. You got it wrong in both your post and title. nm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 06:36 PM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default

Meh - that is not actually that interesting. If they were enough programs to use 6 cores then I'd possibly consider it.

Good Find!

and yah I saw 32mn and was thinking Ok now they might have something going! LOL
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2009, 07:33 PM
crispex's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

It's not really interesting unless you're interested in that subject in the first place, and then it gets really interesting when you see some current charts from Intel about the potential of the 32....

hehe.....cant stop thinking about the man'o'neater.....

....32 nm cores.

Consider this. The chart that I found (and lost) clearly mapped the 32nm core ability. I really can't tell you what type it was, how many cores and whatnot, but I believe it was a quad.

It was a chart of stable clocks and voltages. At 1.3V (note that the i7's require 1.35-ish), this little beastie was pumping 5GHz. Stable.
__________________
If it ain't rocket powered, it ain't worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2009, 08:01 PM
bovine.baron's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 486

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crispex View Post
It was a chart of stable clocks and voltages. At 1.3V (note that the i7's require 1.35-ish), this little beastie was pumping 5GHz. Stable.


Who do I have to kill to get one?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2009, 11:13 AM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
six cores 32mn, so they probably gonna slap 2 tri cores together ?
I think you will all find this part of our Nehalem review helpful in answering this question, just read the last paragraph.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 vs Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Hanibal{CA} New Builds 18 August 10, 2009 07:53 PM
[FS] Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Evylldemon Buy/Sell & Trade 3 January 24, 2009 06:36 AM
FS: Intel Core 2 CPUs zoob Buy/Sell & Trade 12 December 19, 2008 08:06 PM
FS: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 OEM $260 zoob Buy/Sell & Trade 2 February 21, 2008 09:02 PM
FS - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 4MB L2 pat767 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 22, 2008 09:00 AM