Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 03:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: St-Sauveur,QC
Posts: 10
Default

I ordered a 940 today at Microbytes for 379. I think the price will go up at first and then slowly settle down to around 285...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 04:17 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,489

My System Specs

Default

If they can put them on the market for under $300 (and again, guessing that they'll at least perform on par with newer non i7 intel quads) they might have a chance at the market. That will be double if they can find some way to put fears of incompatibilities with current AM2+ boards to rest. They lost a lot of ground (probably more the fault of board manufacturers than theirs) when folks had major problems running the higher end quads on boards that were supposed to be AM2+ certified.

Don't get me wrong... I'm rooting for them. If they manage to put out a decent overclocker (I've mentioned elsewhere that I think they should underbin their chips to get the enthusiasts excited... :) ) I will very seriously think of trying out my first new AMD platform since I ditched S939.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 04:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: St-Sauveur,QC
Posts: 10
Default

I have BIOS 1406 installed on my M3A32-MVP which runs it...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 04:32 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

when is the Delivery date from Microbytes Monsieur Lachigan ?

I'd like to see what you can do with it !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 05:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: St-Sauveur,QC
Posts: 10
Default

The clerk said his supplier had his inventory marked as -29. He said it could be about 2 weeks, but I won't be getting impatient until the first week in January...
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 05:36 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

I'll be waiting for the AM3 benchmarks... wait, no I won't. I'll be pre-ordering an AM3 w/ a motherboard (still nothing announced tho ) and some DDR3... then I'll post some benchies for y'all. hehe.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 05:48 PM
kirk_d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 223
Default

That's very interesting. Fudzilla claims the AM3 Phenoms will be around 10% faster using ddr3 of coarse. That would put them neck in neck with Nehalem.

Proof is in the pudding though, so until that time.....
Attached Images
 
__________________
Opty 170(naked) @2600 | Abit AT8 32x | EVGA Vanilla 8800gt 650/1625/950 | 2gb Ocz Pc4000Eb@260 | Audigy Gamer | Tx650 | Cm690 |

WC Loop: DD Cpx-Pro | HWL 240 Xtreme | D-Tek V2
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 05:49 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirk_d View Post
That's very interesting. Fudzilla claims the AM3 Phenoms will be around 10% faster using ddr3 of coarse. That would put them neck in neck with Nehalem.

Proof is in the pudding though, so until that time.....
I'll let you know when I can, lol.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 05:54 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Don't trust laurier computers, nor should you respect their price. They're a little shady if you ask me. Bought my P5Q-E from them but the CPU prices at the time were through the roof!
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 05:56 PM
kirk_d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 223
Default

Found the article: Fudzilla - DDR3 Phenom will speed up 5 percent

Looks like I was wrong about the 10% though, more like 5% claimed.
__________________
Opty 170(naked) @2600 | Abit AT8 32x | EVGA Vanilla 8800gt 650/1625/950 | 2gb Ocz Pc4000Eb@260 | Audigy Gamer | Tx650 | Cm690 |

WC Loop: DD Cpx-Pro | HWL 240 Xtreme | D-Tek V2
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A FS exclusive DVD recorder with no manufacturer listing...? TwystedMonkey Off Topic 4 May 13, 2008 09:38 AM
AMD Phenom X3 LooseCannon CPU's and Motherboards 6 April 24, 2008 11:22 AM
AMD Phenom Kappy CPU's and Motherboards 4 March 26, 2008 06:24 PM
AMD Phenom CDN $ prices qwerty Rumor Mill 2 November 14, 2007 04:15 PM
AMD prepares its Phenom FX, Phenom X4 and Phenom X2 lineups Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 May 4, 2007 07:38 AM