Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 04:06 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

It's good to have competition but:

NF3 felt like abandonware
NF4 was decent, except that crap nvidia never got to work right (firewall, IDE drivers)
NF570 was a complete rip off, just the crappy Intel NF4 renamed. I least I didn't get ripped off as much as those that forked out for NF590.

Nivida doesn't really have a viable CPU market to make chipsets for anymore. AMD has their Ati purchase, Intel work's better on Intel, Via, who cares.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 09:15 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
It's good to have competition but:

NF3 felt like abandonware
NF4 was decent, except that crap nvidia never got to work right (firewall, IDE drivers)
NF570 was a complete rip off, just the crappy Intel NF4 renamed. I least I didn't get ripped off as much as those that forked out for NF590.

Nivida doesn't really have a viable CPU market to make chipsets for anymore. AMD has their Ati purchase, Intel work's better on Intel, Via, who cares.
Well said Dr. well said.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 12:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Well I am running nForce 570 SLI, and to be honest, I don't feel ripped off at all - my rig is running smoothly and fast - at least by far better than the my previous VIA based chipsets LOL !
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 05:09 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
It's good to have competition but:

NF3 felt like abandonware
NF4 was decent, except that crap nvidia never got to work right (firewall, IDE drivers)
NF570 was a complete rip off, just the crappy Intel NF4 renamed. I least I didn't get ripped off as much as those that forked out for NF590.
Absolutely.I fully agree.Add to That ;

NF680i was an untested , rushed-to-market-POS-chipset.

-----------

Let me say again , I agree with the loss of competition being a bad thing.

I will also say , I run AMD rigs myself.
-
I'm not worried that the loss of VIA and Nvidia chipsets might affect AMD.I'm standing here watching Intel pound in AMD's coffin nails.They (AMD) better do something quick or it's over.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 05:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

The one thing AMD can do is make better chipsets - properly test them, say, run some benchmarks or something and make chipsets that are up to par with their CPUs.....

NOBODY will miss VIA, they were always a CRAP chipset and had a crippled PCI bandwidth and other problems, NVIDIA had a major lead-in over VIA in terms of performance, no doubt I would go for an nforce board anytime over VIA. Now with VIA and nForce gone, what's left.........CRAP :D
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 05:46 PM
Digitaldemon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 2 miles south of heaven.. east of eden
Posts: 308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle Eye View Post
Wow I thought I'd never see it, EVGA using an Intel Chipset then again what choice did they have? Oh thats right nVidia doesn't have a chipset for the Intel Core i7 yet or ever.

P.S. The Palatino linotype font didn't seem to work there DD.
Its still ot finished but yeah it was confirmed as legit on the evga forums


* Supports Intel Core i7 Processors
* Intel X58/ICH10R Chipset
* EVGA VDroop Control
* 100% Solid State Capacitors
* 6 DIMM triple-channel DDR3
* Enthusiast layout supporting 2-way, 3-way SLI and CrossFireX
* 10 SATA II 3.0GB/s ports (1 e-SATA)
* EVGA E-LEET Turning Utility







[/FONT][/color]
[/FONT]

E-LEET Tune First Look On EVGA X58 SLI FTW
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 06:07 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Its almost a shame that EVGA didn't have any P45 and X48 motherboards I think they would have had some decent offerings, although they probably had little choice due to contract obligations no doubt they were kicking themselves a little.

Call me crazy is that 1.61v vcore voltage correct me if I am wrong isn't that potentially unsafe for long term use? I hope thats not what it takes to get these cpu's up to those speeds.

EE
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 06:32 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

I'm wondering what XFX will offer motherboard wise as well.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 06:41 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Thats a good question another nVidia exclusive partner with nothing next in line, I checked their website and nothing has been updated. I sent them off a quick enquiry, although I doubt they'll have little to say I will let you know if they respond but I am not holding my breath.

EE
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2008, 10:48 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Why the hell would they put SATA port so close to the PCIex16 slot over there ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes