Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Reviews & Articles from the Web

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 06:46 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,489

My System Specs

Default

Well, the only thing I will say in favor of the manufacturers is that they don't officially support the 125W TDP processors on these boards. My lack of research before I bought this combination is really to blame for my problems. I just assumed they would work considering this platform is supposed to be up against the G35 platform.

As for AMD's latest systems, they are fast, but they are not cheap to build a performance system. You theoretically need a $200+ motherboard plus a $200+ CPU to compete with anything Intel has to offer. Since there are no decent $100-200 motherboards that can properly support the best CPU's, you are spending the same as if you bought a faster Intel system. Atleast with Intel you can buy a $99 motherboard that will handle the QX9650.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 07:52 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

My M2NPV-VM which was 50 bucks at the time I bought it (like 2 years ago) supports quad core. So does my M2N-E, and my M2A-VM. All of which are 100 bucks or lower.

You're saying that your board doesn't support it?
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 08:32 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,489

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
My M2NPV-VM which was 50 bucks at the time I bought it (like 2 years ago) supports quad core. So does my M2N-E, and my M2A-VM. All of which are 100 bucks or lower.

You're saying that your board doesn't support it?
Partially right. It supports up to the 9550 Phenom which has a 95W TDP IIRC. My board does not support ANY 125W CPU, even the dual cores. That's not to say that my board will not run them since I am currently running my 9850 in it right now. The problem is the terrible cheap design of the PWM area. Pulling the full 125W+ through the CPU power circuits tends to destroy the boards. Anandtech killed 4 of them when they were testing them with a 9850 before they realized what was going on. The real problem is that AMD didn't require the 780G based motherboards to support anything over 95W so the motherboard manufacturers figured they'd save $5-10 per board and use weak CPU power circuitry. Personally, I'd of happily paid $15-20 more for my board for it to have a robust power circuit.

Of course, you can also go with the lame argument that these boards were never meant to use the "high end" AMD processors, but to me that is just a silly excuse being offered for idiotic planning of AMD's latest products.

As for the prices I quoted, I am talking about real AM2+ motherboards that are able to properly run the Phenoms. I could get a regular AM2 board, but that makes little sense since I wanted the latest chipsets.

And think of it this way. AMD boasts the overclockign performance of this chipset, yet even when you OC the 9550 you are sure to pust the TDP close to if not over 125W anyways so even supported CPU's have the ability to overpower and kill these wimpy boards.
__________________
MY HEATWARE

Last edited by b1lk1; May 12, 2008 at 08:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 08:52 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Ah ok. I was wondering since you were running the 9850.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 07:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
My M2NPV-VM which was 50 bucks at the time I bought it (like 2 years ago) supports quad core. So does my M2N-E, and my M2A-VM. All of which are 100 bucks or lower.

You're saying that your board doesn't support it?
hi, i also have a m2npv-vm!
are you sure it supports quad core phenom?
have you actually tested it?
i really want to upgrade to phenom but I am hesitant to try a quad core in this mobo because none of the phenoms are one the compatibility list from the asus website.
would you mind testing your quad core cpu out on your m2npv-vm?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 08:30 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danger22 View Post
hi, i also have a m2npv-vm!
are you sure it supports quad core phenom?
have you actually tested it?
i really want to upgrade to phenom but I am hesitant to try a quad core in this mobo because none of the phenoms are one the compatibility list from the asus website.
would you mind testing your quad core cpu out on your m2npv-vm?

Read the entire thread... :) It explains this exactly.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 09:25 AM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

Yet one more reason I'm glad I run on Intel machines :P
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 10:54 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

Considering this problem was rectified in excess of 6 months ago, I fail to see why this thread was dug out of the graveyard ...

I've been using 780Gs with Phenom IIs with nothing but good results ...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 11:04 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
Read the entire thread... :) It explains this exactly.
That, and the fact this thread is over one year old

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Gruntsworthy View Post
Yet one more reason I'm glad I run on Intel machines :P
Again, this issue has been long gone.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 03:07 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

I'm not to familiar with AMD, so I had no idea... i didn't look at the original thread's posting date :P
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes