Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Reviews & Articles from the Web

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2011, 07:40 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Wo. So there is a good chance a lot of these boards have no third party SATA/RAID controllers?

Does that also mean we'll be able to use SSD caching w/ nice large HDD arrays?
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2011, 09:23 PM
EmptyMellon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 436

My System Specs

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Wo. So there is a good chance a lot of these boards have no third party SATA/RAID controllers?

Does that also mean we'll be able to use SSD caching w/ nice large HDD arrays?
Yes.

Quote:
"Users will benefit from ASUS SSD Caching, which uses solid state drive speeds to intelligently accelerate frequently-accessed tasks and applications. Offering speeds up to three times faster than mechanical hard drives in most applications, ASUS SSD Caching features an exclusive user interface and storage control options that boosts performance with one click."
source: ASUS Intel X79 Motherboards - P9X79, TUF, WS and ROG Rampage IV Extreme - The ASUS P9X79 Pro and P9X79 Deluxe - Legit Reviews
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2011, 11:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 35
Default

wow this thing looks exactly the same as EVGA's dual Xeon board except for the dual sockets and memory of course.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2011, 09:24 AM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Do not know if you guys seen this yet
Asus Rampage IV Extreme - LGA2011 X79 - Rampage 4 - YouTube
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata , GTX 680, Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H, LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2011, 02:23 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

hmm, the heatsinks are kinda unnattractive. Im sure they are functional though, with that heatpipe snaking its way around most of the board.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2011, 01:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default

hi all,
thanks for your very good reviews.

did i get this right that i cannot use both at the same time?

quote from review:
The OT Header allows connection of a 2-pin cable switch for users to enable/disable the OC Key and use ROG Connect. This switch is not included but we highly recommend getting one as you will have to get up and press ROG Connect constantly while benching (every reboot).

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2011, 08:47 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

You want to use ROG connect and OC Key at the same time?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2011, 12:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default

i think i got this completely wrong?
me is bios only guy but i want to dive into this software because i saw its useful during benching.
i thought rog connect is for mb+cpu settings on laptop and oc key is extra for gpu on desktop so i did not understand the meaning of the press rog connect constantly?

thanks for your time
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2011, 01:04 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Yeah ROG Connect is for adjust settings using a different PC. OC Key uses the same button to activate but there would be no reason to use both at once. You can use OC Key to adjust anything you want in windows or you can use AI Suite where even more adjustments are avail.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2011, 01:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default

wouldnt that be a scenario during benchrun mark 06 to lower or raise cpu mhz with notebook and shortly after raise or lower gpu clocks and for this i have to press that mentionde 2-pin cable switch for users to enable/disable the OC Key and use ROG Connect?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
e-atx , intel , rog rampage iv extreme , x79

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] ASUS Rampage II Extreme mobo Jim Johnstone Buy/Sell & Trade 2 February 22, 2011 06:09 AM
What RAM for Asus Rampage II Extreme? Jim Johnstone RAM 0 November 11, 2010 01:15 PM
ASUS p6x58D Premium versus Asus Rampage Extreme III Timid newbe New Builds 2 August 17, 2010 02:09 PM
ASUS Launches the Rampage III Extreme and Maximus III Extreme Motherboards FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 4 April 16, 2010 06:40 AM
ASUS Rampage Extreme or ASUS Maximus II Formula AmuseMe CPU's and Motherboards 3 July 20, 2009 10:46 AM