Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Reviews & Articles from the Web

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2007, 06:28 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,666
Default C&C Tiberium Wars Performance Tested

Legion Hardware has continued its very interesting series of testing the latest games with multiple hardware configurations. They are now testing the Tiberium Wars demo and have come up with some VERY interesting results; the game runs without any problems at 1600X1200 at medium settings with on a 6600GT.

http://www.legionhardware.com/document.php?id=623&p=0

The graphics look amazing even at medium quality but I have a funny feeling that if you are playing on a 1280X1024 monitor, you will be able to use a 6600GT to play at near-Ultra settings.

All the other game developers should take notice of this. It just shows you what a well-developed (from EA!?!?!) plays like.

Just an FYI, I did a test on the demo where I had 400+ units against an Brutal opponent (who had TONS of units too) and experienced ZERO slowdown at Ultra settings with a 7900GTO at stock speeds. Funny how this game looks MUCH better than Supreme Commander and plays butter smooth compared to the SC slideshow...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2007, 06:50 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Legion Hardware has continued its very interesting series of testing the latest games with multiple hardware configurations. They are now testing the Tiberium Wars demo and have come up with some VERY interesting results; the game runs without any problems at 1600X1200 at medium settings with on a 6600GT.

http://www.legionhardware.com/document.php?id=623&p=0

The graphics look amazing even at medium quality but I have a funny feeling that if you are playing on a 1280X1024 monitor, you will be able to use a 6600GT to play at near-Ultra settings.

All the other game developers should take notice of this. It just shows you what a well-developed (from EA!?!?!) plays like.

Just an FYI, I did a test on the demo where I had 400+ units against an Brutal opponent (who had TONS of units too) and experienced ZERO slowdown at Ultra settings with a 7900GTO at stock speeds. Funny how this game looks MUCH better than Supreme Commander and plays butter smooth compared to the SC slideshow...
Yeah I have had a little time to play it, only thing I didnt like is the AI way to easy IMO, might just be because of the demo and the full game will be tweaked more.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2007, 06:59 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Does the battlefield scale of C&C compare to 'grand' scale of SC?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2007, 07:20 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,666
Default

There is only one map in the demo but some of the multiplayer map shots I have seen over at IGN are very large indeed.

Just remember: C&C is not Supreme Commander in the scale of the battlefield but seems to surpass it in rendering large amounts of units and detailed terrain.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2007, 08:51 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
All the other game developers should take notice of this. It just shows you what a well-developed (from EA!?!?!) plays like.
I've been complaining about this for years.....

I know it takes years & tons of money to produce games even when they're using an off the shelf engine, but IMO games (and apps) producers rely wayyyy too much on hardware improvements to muscle through bad coding.

Bring me back to the days of games on single sided 5 1/4 low density disks where the code had to be tight!!!! :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2007, 09:03 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Maybe this is something that we will see an improvement in, as DX10 coding matures.

It's nice to see exceptions like Company of Heroes, though, huh?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guild wars?... omgwtf Gaming 11 March 14, 2008 04:41 AM
problems with Star wars empire at war donimo Gaming 0 November 8, 2007 11:36 AM
Neoseeker on Enemy Territory: Quake Wars beta performance Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 0 August 28, 2007 05:58 PM
Command and Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars Review Discussion DevilUknow Gaming 12 July 12, 2007 09:43 AM