Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Reviews & Articles from the Web

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 01:35 AM
EmptyMellon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Post Expreview: AMD “Bulldozer” Engineering Sample Surfaced'

Source: Expreview: AMD “Bulldozer” Engineering Sample Surfaced'
"Lately OBRovsky Blogspot let out several pictures of AMD "Bulldozer" engineering sample,and some specs are revealed as well."


"According to the display of CPU-Z 1.57.1,the model number of the leaked processor is FX-8130P, shown as FX-3214 in HWiNFO32."

"The engineering sample is based on 32nm manufacturing process,features 8-core design,codenamed Zambezi.In addition,it clocks at no less than 3GHz,employs 8MB L3 cache,supports DDR3-1866 memory and some instruct set,such as XOP,AES,AVX,FMA4,and so on."

"In overclocking test,the engineering processor achieved the frequency of 4.63GHz and passed Super-PI test, at which time the CPU voltage had exceeded 1.5V."
Well, it will definetly be interesting to see the final product, on both the desktop and server side

Last edited by EmptyMellon; June 24, 2011 at 01:44 AM. Reason: argh
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 07:08 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 397

My System Specs

Default

4.63GHz @ 1.5V seems a little high if it wants to achieve similar OC potential as SB. I wonder if the OC was done on air and what would the temps be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 08:48 AM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

180W TDP?!?!?! Am I the only one who thinks thats a little on the high side?
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 09:03 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

for 4.63v its not too bad for a sample....wait a few months till some new revisions and check again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 09:51 AM
EmptyMellon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default

Personally, I am happy to see that they can hit over 4.0 GHz, so it does not seem like AMD shall have a Phenom (one) one their hands. Even 3.8 to 4.0GHz, with 8 physical cores, I think that it would be quite the prommising OC.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 10:08 AM
Jebusman's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 358

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keltron 3030 View Post
180W TDP?!?!?! Am I the only one who thinks thats a little on the high side?
For an overclock on an engineering sample? Not really. Does seem weird seeing such a large number on an AMD processor though.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 11:02 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma0991 View Post
I wonder if the OC was done on air and what would the temps be.
Google translated text from original source:
Quote:
On Air result ... this fresh sample is amazing! PS. I know where is the problem with first-B0 crappy performance in early Chinese (and YT video) tests! Its not in CPUs, But in BIOSes! Only ONE (max two) board on the market with Able Unleash the full performance from the AMD FX at this moment! Hint : board with bios 0009 number! :)
So to answer that question, yeah!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 10:06 PM
Toyoracer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kootenays
Posts: 317
Default

This is from AMDZone
__________________
Laughing, Loving still Living
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2011, 10:08 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

thats 2600k territory. oh,it will be so fun!

would love to see the 4 core a good bit under 200 to give the i5 sb's
a good run for their money..and overclock(which on intel's side not all do hihi)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2011, 09:53 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

If engineering samples can run up to 4.6+ ghz on the b0 revision, this just shows that refind these cpu's could possibly dare i say it reach 5 ghz easy like the current Phenom II X4/X6's can ..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test results for AMD's FX Bulldozer dma0991 Rumor Mill 15 May 4, 2011 11:01 AM
AMD Bulldozer first look (The Register ) ZZLEE Reviews & Articles from the Web 1 February 25, 2011 04:01 PM
AMD Phenom II X3 710 Unlocking. Turn it into an Engineering Sample geokilla Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 July 2, 2009 07:58 PM
REVIEW: T8300 Engineering Sample CPU Core 2 Duo Laptop Processor! Oversized Rooster CPU's and Motherboards 3 June 30, 2008 09:48 AM