Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Reviews & Articles from the Web

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 12:26 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
I would like SLI support.
WTB my MSI 980A board? Itll be FS soon, haha.

More seriously, I don't recall the whole backstory anymore either. All I remember is that for some reason, Nvidia is no longer creating SLI-supported chipsets for AMD platforms Not cool
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 12:36 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
WTB my MSI 980A board? Itll be FS soon, haha.

More seriously, I don't recall the whole backstory anymore either. All I remember is that for some reason, Nvidia is no longer creating SLI-supported chipsets for AMD platforms Not cool

They lose market share because of that.

Same reason I blasted Sapphire with their True Black X58.

Limiting our options will close your market share.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 12:40 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Discriminate how? Is that slightly Nvidia's fault for no longer created SLI-capable chipsets? Many users have a GTX580 (single) on AMD boards without issue or performance hit, so i dont know what else you could mean.
SLI has moved to a license-only implementation for dual card configs. No additional chip is required. AMD refuses to pay for the license.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 04:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 189

My System Specs

Default

Would motherboard makers be able to pay for the license even when AMD doesn't want them to?
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 04:52 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iphikratous View Post
Would motherboard makers be able to pay for the license even when AMD doesn't want them to?
probably but that could get them in trouble with uncle amd.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
The people you speak of won't be "cheaping out" and buying Bulldozer then.

Don't take that offensively in any way though since I am sure BD will be a good alternative against Intel's Nehalem / Bloomfield architecture.

tell me you at least played with one chippie, love or hate? :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] [WTB] 775 or am2+/am3 ddr2 mobo that support latest cpus _dangtx_ Buy/Sell & Trade 13 July 24, 2010 07:25 PM
Asus Prepping Support for Core-i9 CPUs FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 24 December 17, 2009 05:31 AM
Does 790X (not GX) mother boards support Dragon Platform? Pokeguylow CPU's and Motherboards 9 May 8, 2009 05:26 AM
AMD AM3 DDR3 Boards on the way!! SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 6 January 23, 2009 12:21 AM
ASUS Claims Leadership in Support for Next Gen AMD CPUs Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 2, 2008 05:17 PM