Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Reviews & Articles from the Web

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 06:43 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default Fastest Internet Yet?

That new worlds fastest supercomputer made me think of this what I just read yesterday.

From the article:
Quote:
In the test, technicians were able to suck down a 2.3GB movie in four ticks of the second hand,....
Verizon FiOS field trial introduces XG-PON2 to the lexicon, shows 10Gbps capabilities -- Engadget


How can you say, I want? I want bad.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 10:57 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

Wont work for home users as we're limited to a gigabit ethernet adapter typically as well as typically commercially the fastest router/switch you can get is a gigabit.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 10:35 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

hm...10Gbps acces with 1gbps network adapter...would that mean some kind of way to get rid of data limitation??? If the server can provide 10 time what user canuse...maybe? But they wont do it since they like making money...
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 03:41 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Wont work for home users as we're limited to a gigabit ethernet adapter typically as well as typically commercially the fastest router/switch you can get is a gigabit.

Well the adapter in your machine isn't that big of a deal since you can get 10gb adapters for less than $500. Is it really worth it? Well at this point no, but it is nice to see it coming.

The router of course is another leap but hey just the fact that they have it running on existing hardware means that it is not too terribly far off.

I know that I would sure like this kind of speed. Of course with that speed I would need hard drives or SSD's that could keep up with it.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 04:03 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

We'll eventually get there in speed. Right now i'm very happy with Bell Aliant as i have their high speed fibop package which delivers to my house a download speed of 75Mpbs and upload speed of 15Mpbs, with no cap.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 10:53 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
We'll eventually get there in speed. Right now i'm very happy with Bell Aliant as i have their high speed fibop package which delivers to my house a download speed of 75Mpbs and upload speed of 15Mpbs, with no cap.
Damn that is nice speed. Here I am happy with 25Mbps down and 2Mbps up.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 11:30 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

That is wicked speed. The problem is that even though it will eventually be implemented in Canada, the providers will rob us blind for using it. We're already being bled dry for speeds and caps we have now. I wish I had the speeds I have here at work at home.

__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2010, 12:31 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default

Damn and I tought I had a good deal with teksavvy 40$ for 5Mb/s and unlimited bandwidth.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2010, 07:13 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

Ah laval, the only server i've found so far that comes close to accurately saying what my net speeds are


Note: I am not getting internet from UNB, i just happen to be a hop to their backbone fibre and speed tests report it as such.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2010, 07:32 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Wont work for home users as we're limited to a gigabit ethernet adapter typically as well as typically commercially the fastest router/switch you can get is a gigabit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
Well the adapter in your machine isn't that big of a deal since you can get 10gb adapters for less than $500. Is it really worth it? Well at this point no, but it is nice to see it coming.

The router of course is another leap but hey just the fact that they have it running on existing hardware means that it is not too terribly far off.

I know that I would sure like this kind of speed. Of course with that speed I would need hard drives or SSD's that could keep up with it.
Wouldn't work for everybody, but if the modem were incorporated into a 1G router it'd be worthwhile to folks like myself who're running 5 PCs even if those PCs were only sucking 1G per. It'd also be well worthwhile for a multiple wireless setup (think hotspot in a motel/hotel).

Individual PCs would be limited by their own connection speed, but there'd be tons of overhead to allow for many PCs to connect without affecting the speeds of the other PCs.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which would get me the most points fastest? Airshehan HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 August 30, 2009 12:46 PM
fastest internet in the world gingerbee Press Releases & Tech News 25 May 7, 2009 04:55 PM
FASTEST USB drive? ImmaPC Storage 2 March 16, 2009 03:29 PM
So, the 2400PRO is the fastest... Dr_BenD_over Video Cards 4 November 20, 2008 06:50 AM
Fastest Computer Ever? Cptn Vortex Press Releases & Tech News 10 June 11, 2008 06:29 PM