Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Reviews & Articles from the Web

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 11:15 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 36
Default IDE better than AHCI for SSD's?

Benchmark Reviews did a comparison running SSDs in IDE Mode vs AHCI Mode. There are some interesting results.

I've always thought TRIM doesn't work in IDE Mode, but the article says "TRIM is non-specific to SATA controller modes, and will work equally well in both IDE and AHCI-mode."

http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.ph...=499&Itemid=38
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 12:07 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

They used HDTune only for the entire test. That right there stops me from taking the review all that seriously.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 12:10 PM
tri5cui7's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sackville, N.B.
Posts: 181

My System Specs

Default

From personal experience I've noticed faster results with ACHI with my intel ssd. I find these results a bit hard to sallow, but I'll leave it for the pros (Gingerbee and AKG) to decide.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 12:30 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

ahci is better in my experience. hdtune is flyby night i use it all the time to get a quick read but as ssd or crystal disk mark is what they should have used. jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 01:11 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
ahci is better in my experience. hdtune is flyby night i use it all the time to get a quick read but as ssd or crystal disk mark is what they should have used. jmo
They should have used Iometer for the IOP testing. Anything else is just plain silly.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 01:20 PM
lemonlime's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 530
Default

With my Indilinx drive, I noticed better 4K random reads/writes with AHCI enabled, but sequential performance was a tad better with IDE. I went with IDE simply for the quicker boot-up times skipping the ICH initialization
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 01:30 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
They should have used Iometer for the IOP testing. Anything else is just plain silly.
um ya not including one is just bad. but your right you can't beat the IO meter test i don't use it all teh time but this is a review we are talking about so.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 02:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 36
Default

Thanks guys. Yeah, that comparison is lacking some content.

If worthwhile, a HWC review/guide on this would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 04:38 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

I don't see how for all their IOPS tests, SSD drives connected via AHCI would get a ridiculous "Random" benchmark of under 10.

That is simply not true in real life. I run an OCZ Summit on my laptop as well as dual OCZ Vertex drives on my main machine. Both setups use AHCI and the random IOPS number is in the several hundred range; not under 10.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 Windforce | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 05:23 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

Unfortunately, they have zilch for SSD knowledge. =\
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting AHCI for SSD?? GMJim Storage 7 June 7, 2010 04:03 PM
AHCI + raid Patramix Storage 7 March 25, 2010 07:07 PM
Team Group Releases P2 IDE SSD FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 March 17, 2010 06:16 PM
Will enabling AHCI boost performance? Matt Storage 17 February 20, 2010 07:22 PM
IDE to AHCI sircuster Storage 5 February 19, 2008 01:55 PM