Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Reviews & Articles from the Web

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 06:18 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Shaw has given me another FREE month of hi-speed extreme. Maybe they will be just as nice with the Gbps stuff?
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 07:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Default

bah, that's what I get for being in Quebec... rip off prices and no way to get the Shaw setup even if I wanted to
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 06:18 AM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default

Shaw are bringing their services to Quebec any soon? ^^
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2010, 10:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Sure the speeds will be nice but what.. are we STILL going to be entailed to a shitty cap of our bandwidth? I mean those speeds are great and all but if we can only grab 80gb a month its a waste.
That's what I was thinking. Regardless though, I am excited about this
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2010, 01:00 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamb View Post
Shaw are bringing their services to Quebec any soon? ^^
Nope, that's Rogers' territory.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2010, 01:36 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

Its good that more companies are getting into the broadband market.... But it would be nice if it wasent a Low end, Backwords run company like Shaw.

If you people could see the hard equipment shaw uses You would piss your pants laughing.

Shaw goes shopping in the big companies garbages.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2010, 01:39 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

OH ya? So you have access to Shaw's plants?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2010, 02:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Sure the speeds will be nice but what.. are we STILL going to be entailed to a shitty cap of our bandwidth? I mean those speeds are great and all but if we can only grab 80gb a month its a waste.
True, but we're still lucky out of the other companies out there that get more bandwidth.. compare rogers their 10mb download speed package only gives 60gb, that's lame..

Although one place I think Shaw should improve is upload speed, High Speed 1mbps and extreme is the same, c'mon man.. we deserve more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
Nope, that's Rogers' territory.
Hold on, isn't quebec videotron and bell territory..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2010, 02:31 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

You can't get Rogers in Quebec? I dunno man I just know that Shaw cant break into the east and Rogers cant break into the west. And Shaw highspeed is 512mbps upload and xtreme is 1mbps. What do you need higher upload speeds for? Getting that torrent ratio up or what
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2010, 03:16 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

Let me See, 3 years with Starchoice, 10 Years with Rogers.

Ive had to Fix Shaw System WHen they **** up so Bad intire buildings cancel with them.

Access to thier Plant... Thier plant is 3 storage buildings with 3/4 ply tables for the techs to fix thier broken shit.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
1 gbps , internet , shaw

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD fails S.M.A.R.T. short test, but passes long test? frontier204 Storage 10 May 19, 2011 04:10 PM
connecting 2 networks Phobia Networking 4 March 3, 2009 08:23 PM
Say it isn't so CBC misterlarry Hockey 33 June 11, 2008 08:33 PM
Bigfoot Networks' Killer NIC network card Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 1 August 12, 2007 12:07 PM
EU files antitrust charges against Intel @ CBC sswilson Press Releases & Tech News 1 July 28, 2007 09:18 PM