Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Reviews & Articles from the Web

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 05:09 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default Radeon HD 5970 Seen in All Its Might [Expreview.com]

A buddy sent me this link over MSN tonight. What a monster of a card at 13.5 inches long!
I'm not sure if anyone else posted this here yet, but if so I apologize.
Beware this could be a bunch of BS though since it's mentioned that the fan runs up to 4700rpm when the card is under load. That's a tad much. lol

Radeon HD 5970 Seen in All Its Might - Expreview.com
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 05:21 PM
Spaceman-Spiff's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby.bc.ca
Posts: 355
Default

Looks similar with the HD5870 x2 ATI Radeon HD 5870 X2 & HD 5850 X2 Images Surface | Hardware Canucks
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 05:26 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

5970 is the 5870X2. So it's already been posted.
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 05:40 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Warrior View Post
5970 is the 5870X2. So it's already been posted.
Yeah I knew that but I didn't see it was already up. Ah well.

http://alienbabeltech.com/abt/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=17968 supposedly has benchies up though. It's giving me a message saying "The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to the site owner reaching his/her bandwidth limit. Please try again later."
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 05:43 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

The length of that card.. is scary. Won't the PCB flex if it's only held by one side? Just the PCI-E x16 slot, and a screw in the bracket by the connectors.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 06:08 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

lol@ bandwidth limit exceed
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 06:25 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Holy snap. Will they make the 5970X2?

I don't think it would flex because it has what looks like some little plastic thingie that keeps it straight. I don't like the design of the shroud for the thing, it's all...funky. I don't like the slots in the shroud either. Lots of heat going to get dumped into the case, especially if you have two chips on full load, and a lovely 4700RPM fan.

If I were to buy this thing I'd honestly tape those slots shut, and then cut a bigger hole for the air to go through. Not so that the vent is all slotted, literally so that it's one big hole where the outputs are. WIN.
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 06:27 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmaPC View Post
Holy snap. Will they make the 5970X2?
That'd be terrifying. I guess it'd have to be dual-PCB and 2 GPUs per PCB. 6 power plugs on it. I wonder how hot it would run at load
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 06:31 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Nah, I'd betcha somehow they'd manage to do it with 2 8-pin plugs. The idiotic dual-PCB thing has been done before, now they only have to step it up to 2 GPU's / PCB. Fking WIN!
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 06:33 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmaPC View Post
Nah, I'd betcha somehow they'd manage to do it with 2 8-pin plugs. The idiotic dual-PCB thing has been done before, now they only have to step it up to 2 GPU's / PCB. Fking WIN!
You'd need like chilled watercooling just to keep it from turning the air around it into plasma :P
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon 8500 arjie8766 Video Cards 10 October 20, 2009 07:06 AM
[WTB] Radeon HD4850 zoob Buy/Sell & Trade 1 May 13, 2009 07:05 PM
Radeon HD2400pro cmac79 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 July 7, 2008 10:40 AM
radeon hd 2400pro cmac79 Video Cards 2 May 28, 2008 05:51 PM
For Sale: Sapphire Radeon 3870x2 & Diamond Radeon 3870x2 mightyallspark Buy/Sell & Trade 96 April 6, 2008 08:07 PM