Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Reviews & Articles from the Web

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 10:59 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default Core i7 - 3GB vs. 6GB?

Gaming Performance Analysis (Corsair Whitepaper)

While the source obviously has a certain bias, still an interesting read for anyone looking to pick up an i7 system. Apparently, there are some potential gaming benefits to be had from using 6GB over 3, which are going to be the main choices.

Personally, I have to wonder whether the differences would be nearly as pronounced when comparing 4GB to 6GB, or with a single-GPU system, but it's still an interesting article.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 01:02 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,666
Default

Personally without seeing any numbers I can see no reason to get 3gigs with i7, I can see that the i7 will benefit in leaps and bounds with the additional ram and as newer programs are released they will take advantage of it.

Now from 4-6 I think you will see some performance gains, but mostly from the triple channel.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 03:53 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

What about 6 gigs in 3 sticks versus 6 sticks?
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 04:57 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,923

My System Specs

Default

Personally if you have the money to buy a i7 setup you have the money to buy 6gigs of ram. Good 3x1 gigs of DDR3 is as low as 100 so I am sure you can spend another 100 bucks for more performance.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes