Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 14, 2008, 03:10 AM
Allstar

Default Opinion needed on some DDR3 ram

I had ordered the following, which was supposed to be in stock, but apparently wasn't and has been back ordered a little over 2 weeks, and have been informed if may be for about another 2 weeks.

Corsair XMS3 DHX TW3X4G1600C9DHX 4GB 2X2GB PC3-12800 DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 240PIN Memory Kit

I came across the following which are in stock. In reading they seem to be well thought of in enthusiast circles but I have no experience with the brand.

G.SKILL F3-12800CL7D-4GBHZ PC3-12800 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL7-7-7-18 240PIN Dual Channel Memory Kit

My question is: Am I better off waiting for the Corsair, or go for the G.Skill.

Thanks for any input.

Last edited by NyteOwl; August 14, 2008 at 03:18 AM. Reason: Corrected typos
Old August 14, 2008, 09:04 AM
F@H

My System Specs

Well, I can't speak about that specific set, but I've used lots of G-skill ram and never had a problem. Look at the timings, they're also way better.
Old August 14, 2008, 01:51 PM
Allstar

Sugar, yes I realized that. As I said, I've no experience with the brand, just what I've read online.

They do seem popular amongst overclockers and tweakers but many of those folks also aren't hesitant about using things they can afford to replace when they push them too hard. I'd like to try a bit of that but also want a rig that once I find a sweet spot back a bit from "the edge" would be stable 24/7.

Mostly what I have used in the past was Crucial and Corsair and on occasion Mushkin (Mushkins in the same general class are also out of stock).

I may just take a chance on the G.Skill. They're cheaper than Corsair too

Last edited by NyteOwl; August 14, 2008 at 01:59 PM. Reason: Fixing my seemingly inevitible typos
Old August 14, 2008, 02:10 PM
Hardware Canucks Reviewer

To me Mushkin > G.SKill > Corsair >OCZ > everyone else