Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2008, 03:12 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

But why would you buy more? You've got some sweet sticks in your system already!
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2008, 03:25 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
But why would you buy more? You've got some sweet sticks in your system already!
Haha I'm not, I've just been antsy to build another system for fun, but i will obviously hold out on it hahaha
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2008, 03:27 PM
Mushkin Rep.
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oshawa,ON
Posts: 148
Default

I got the same urge.
But since I am going ddr3 in a couple weeks, should be easy, got another pc almost already.

That rampage extreme review sold me.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2008, 04:30 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MushkinGreg View Post
I got the same urge.
But since I am going ddr3 in a couple weeks, should be easy, got another pc almost already.

That rampage extreme review sold me.
Yep, that's exactly why I'm so itchy, I forgot how much I loved a good ASUS board. Used them for a lot of my previous builds, this is the first EVGA I went with. While a decent board, it's really childsplay I felt. I'm going with something seriously hefty on my next build, if I don't do it with that Rampage I'll wait 6 or so months on Nehalam and go all out then.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2008, 12:51 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Out of curiosity how far can i push my Ascent 8000 kit i know it wont run 1066 and since there are not many reviews of the product its kinda hard to find the common overclocking limit?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2008, 07:11 AM
Mushkin Rep.
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oshawa,ON
Posts: 148
Default

Being the ascent , I'd assume 1100Mhz would be easy. But 1080 @ 2.0v , 1066 1.95v .
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2008, 10:19 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

My Redlines hit 1066 on stock voltage and tested out fine. I'm certain you could do at least that on the Ascents.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2008, 10:25 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

will try those i already had the voltage of the ram set to 2.1 i should put that down to 2.0 or 1.95?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2008, 10:29 AM
Mushkin Rep.
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oshawa,ON
Posts: 148
Default

Have you tried these yet?
Modded Asus P5Q/Pro/Deluxe/Premium BIOS - XtremeSystems Forums
I assume this would make the largest difference
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2008, 10:47 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

hmm i will read more into this i know Ket was doing sum beta bios's i currently use the newest bios 1306 which seems to run fine. Anyone else used Ket's moded bios?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.


Last edited by Dashock; September 10, 2008 at 10:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes